1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. 2nd ODI: MS Dhoni's lightning quick stumping of Ross Taylor floors Twitter

2nd ODI: MS Dhoni's lightning quick stumping of Ross Taylor floors Twitter

Mahendra Singh Dhoni now has effected 430 dismissals in his ODI career with 311 of them being catches and 119 stumpings.

India TV Sports Desk India TV Sports Desk
MOUNT MAUNGANUI Updated on: January 26, 2019 17:16 IST
MS Dhoni
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

Ross Taylor's stumping was MS Dhoni's 119th in ODIs

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was at it again as he sent Ross Taylor packing with a lightning quick stumping on Saturday during the second ODI of the five-match series against New Zealand.

Dhoni dismissed Ross Taylor in the 18th over of the New Zealand innings in their chase of 325 at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui.

Kedar Jadhav bowled one full and outside off and Taylor lunged forward to defend but missed it completely. His back foot went up in the air slightly and that was enough for MSD to flick the bails off. That was fast and the stumping appeal is referred upstairs and the result was evident in the very first replay. Dhoni was confident and knew immediately but it had to go upstairs before giving out.

Taylor would be feeling unlucky as this was not the first time he was on the recieving end of a Dhoni brilliance.

In October 2016, Dhoni ran Taylor out with a no-look effort at Ranchi. However, the Black Caps were on the winning end in that match as the visitors defeated India by 19 runs in the fourth ODI of the five-match series.

Saturday's stumping was his 119th stumping in ODIs with Kumar Sangakkara (99) being the second most behind Dhoni. The 37-year-old now has 430 dismissals to his name. She has taken 311 catches and affecte 119 stumpins in his ODI career so far.

And, Twitter couldn't stop themselves from hailing MSD for his brilliance.

Write a comment

Bigg boss 13

Live Scorecard