Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navaratri

Nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navaratri

New Delhi, Oct 15: During the festival of Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshiped in nine avatars. During these nine holy days, each day of goddess Durga is worshiped in different avatara. Nava, that also means

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk Updated on: April 01, 2014 7:18 IST
Maa Shailputri – Goddess Worshipped on the first day of Navratri


‘Shail' means mountains and ‘Putri' means daughter. She is also known as Parvati or Hemavati

Shailputri is believed to be the rebirth of Sati, the daughter of Daksha and the wife of Lord Shiva. In her second birth she is Parvati, the daughter of Himalaya and later she became the consort of Shiva.  

This is one of the very first forms of Shakti and is closely associated with Lord Shiva.



Latest India News

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India