Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navaratri

Nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navaratri

New Delhi, Oct 15: During the festival of Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshiped in nine avatars. During these nine holy days, each day of goddess Durga is worshiped in different avatara. Nava, that also means

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk Updated on: April 01, 2014 7:18 IST
Maa Brahmacharini – Goddess Worshipped on the second day of Navratri


Here Brahma means ‘one who constantly meditates on the Supreme Being'. Brahmacharini is highly pious and is a peaceful form or is in meditation. She is also known as Tapashcharini, Aparna and Uma.

This form of Durga is related to the severe penance undertaken by Sati and Parvati in their respective births to attain Lord Shiva as husband.

Some of the most important Vratas observed in different parts of India by women is based on the strict austerities followed by Brahmacharini.



Latest India News

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from India