Saturday, July 20, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Gujarat
  4. Modi Cabinet 3.0: Gujarat's representation in NDA govt drops to six in third term

Modi Cabinet 3.0: Gujarat's representation in NDA govt drops to six in third term

The swearing-in of Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with his Council of Ministers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan today (June 9) marked the beginning of Modi 3.0, the third straight term for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Edited By: Arushi Jaiswal @JaiswalArushi Ahmedabad Updated on: June 09, 2024 23:55 IST
PM Modi, swearing-in ceremony
Image Source : PTI JP Nadda and S Jaishankar take oath as ministers during the swearing-in ceremony of new Union government

Modi Cabinet 3.0:  The number of Gujarat MPs, who were inducted into the new Narendra Modi government came down from seven in the second term to six. Notably, Amit Shah, Mansukh Mandaviya, and S Jaishankar were sworn in as cabinet ministers for the second consecutive time.

 Joining them as new entrants are state BJP chief and Navsari MP CR Paatil, along with party president and Rajya Sabha MP from Gujarat JP Nadda, and Bhavnagar MP Nimuven Bambhaniya.

BJP MPs dropped from cabinet?

However, Rajkot MP Parshottam Rupala, a minister in the previous government, was dropped. He faced controversy over a remark that angered the Khastriya/Rajput community during the Lok Sabha poll campaign. Rupala, a three-term Rajya Sabha member, had previously served as a minister in both Modi governments. He was the Union minister of state for agriculture, farmers welfare and panchayati raj between 2016 and 2021. From July 2021, he was Union minister of fisheries, animal husbandry and dairying.

Devusinh Chauhan, MP from Kheda, was also not included this time. He had previously served as Union minister of state for communication.

Mahendra Munjpara, the former minister of state for women and child development, was not given a ticket by the party to contest the 2024 Lok Sabha election.

Additionally, Darshana Jardosh, the former minister of state for railways and textiles, did not contest the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

JP Nadda returns to Modi Cabinet 

After leading the BJP as its national president for more than four years, JP Nadda returned to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's council of ministers. The 63-year old took oath as a Cabinet minister, becoming the sole representative from Himachal Pradesh in the BJP-led government. It is not yet known which ministry will be assigned to him. He served as Union health minister in Modi's first term from November 9, 2014, to May 30, 2019.

Nadda, who holds a degree in law, started his political journey with the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the students' wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). He became president of the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), the BJP's youth wing, in 1991.

He held various key positions in the BJP, headed its election campaign in a host of states -- from Bihar to Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Maharashtra and Punjab. He also served as a minister in BJP's governments in his home state of Himachal Pradesh.

Also Read: Narendra Modi becomes PM for third consecutive time, equals Nehru's record with historic oath

Also Read: Chirag Paswan to Jayant Chaudhary, list of new faces inducted in PM Modi's NDA 3.0 govt

(With PTI inputs)


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Gujarat