Tuesday, December 05, 2023
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. SL vs AUS, 4th ODI: Warner stumped on 99, Twitter reacts

SL vs AUS, 4th ODI: Warner stumped on 99, Twitter reacts

The Aussies who have struggled against the Lankan tigers in the subcontinent conditions are 2-1 down in the five-match ODI series that is being played.

Jishu Bhattacharya Written by: Jishu Bhattacharya @bh0592 New Delhi Published on: June 21, 2022 22:48 IST
David Warner
Image Source : GETTY

David Warner misses his ton


  • Sri Lanka lead the 5 match ODI series 2-1
  • The ODI series is to be followed by a Test series

Australia's ODI series in Sri Lanka is unfolding like a horror story right now. The Australian outfit has been struggling against Sri Lanka which has till now done a great job in restraining them. In the five-match ODI series, Australia is down by 2-1, and at this point, it looks like they are nowhere close to securing a series victory. 

Sri Lanka has set a target of 259 for the Aussies and in the process, they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. The wicket that was getting difficult to bat on saw a Warner masterclass as he held one end and scored 99 quick runs off 112 deliveries. With two wickets of Head and Maxwell falling for 2 runs, Warner decided to take the attack to Sri Lanka in the do-or-die game and that is when a delivery from Dhananjaya de Silva foxed him and he was stumped by wicketkeeper Dickwella.

As Warner walked back on 99, here is how Twitter reacted:


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Niroshan Dickwella(w), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay, Maheesh Theekshana

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch(c), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Alex Carey(w), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins, Matthew Kuhnemann, Josh Hazlewood

Latest Cricket News

Read all Assembly Election Results 2023 Live on indiatvnews.com and Get the Latest English News and Updates on Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana