Manchester, England,Aug 2: Australia asked for an explanation from the International Cricket Council about how umpires arrived at a controversial decision to give Usman Khawaja caught behind on the opening day of the third Ashes on Thursday.
Third umpire Kumar Dharmasena upheld an on-field call test at Old Trafford, despite replay technology failing to provide any evidence that Khawaja touched the ball with his bat.
“Cricket Australia has sought an explanation from the ICC on the dismissal of Usman Khawaja,” CA chief executive James Sutherland said in a statement. “In our view, the on-field decision and referred decision using DRS were both incorrect.
“We understand and accept that from time to time mistakes can be made. However in this instance, on behalf of the player, the team and all cricket fans, we feel duty bound to seek further explanation as to how this decision was arrived at.”
The dubious call was widely condemned, with Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd tweeting: “That was one of the worst cricket umpiring decisions I have ever seen.”
Australia great Shane Warne, commentating for Sky Sports in Britain, called it a “ridiculous decision.”
Khawaja was out for one to leave Australia on 82-2 but the team recovered thanks to Michael Clarke's 125 not out and Chris Rogers' 84 to finish the day on a healthy 303-3.
The decision still aggrieved Khawaja and the Australia team.
“From what we saw on the replays, I think even the England guys had given up hope of it being out,” Rogers said. “It's disappointing and another question mark I guess.
“It's people's careers on the line. You want these decisions to be right. I felt for him but it's been happening so you just have to get on with it.