• Delhi reports 11,684 new Covid cases; positivity rate drops to 22% from 28%
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. 2nd Test: Paine backs players after Adelaide humbling, announces unchanged playing XI for Perth Test

2nd Test: Paine backs players after Adelaide humbling, announces unchanged playing XI for Perth Test

Australia skipper Tim Paine announced an unchanged playing XI despite losing the series opener to India and are prepared for the second Test at Perth.

India TV Sports Desk Written by: India TV Sports Desk
New Delhi Updated on: December 13, 2018 14:04 IST
India tour of Australia 2018
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

Australia announce unchanged playing XI for Perth Test

Cricket Australia have announced an unchanged playing XI for the 2nd Test at Perth against India as skipper Tim Paine has backed the players despite heavy criticism after they lost the series opener in Adelaide by 31 runs. 
Opener Aaron Finch has claimed his place in the top order despite underperforming in the two innings played. 
The skipper has backed the opener along with star pacer Mitchell Starc. Paine said that the criticism aimed at the southpaw was 'unfair' after the Adelaide Test. 
Perth, generally known for its pace and bounce has always been a nemesis for Indians because of the quick track but apparently, the Virat Kohli led Team India seems unfazed and much of it is simply because of the thunderous quintet it has at its disposal.
India have always been known to struggle on green tops but this team has done well overseas despite not being able to win a series. India won in Jo'burg and barring Lord's, put up a decent account of themselves in England.
For India, Rohit Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin have been ruled out of the second Test at the Perth Stadium, starting on December 14.

Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav have been named in the 13-man squad that India announced for the second Test on Thursday.

Australia Playing XI: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Write a comment