1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Bengal Lok sabha election result:Trinamool ahead in 21 LS seats, BJP 11

Bengal Lok sabha election result:Trinamool ahead in 21 LS seats, BJP 11

As votes come in, decisions are turning over its head in Bengal. Earlier, BJP`s candidate was leading but now Asansol is trailing behind TMC`s Moon Moon Sen.

IANS Edited by: IANS Kolkata Published on: May 23, 2019 11:17 IST
Representational Image
Image Source : PTI

TMC is leading in 21 states while BJP in 11 states.


West Bengal's ruling Trinamool Congress is leading in 21 out of 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state while the BJP is ahead in 11 and Congress in two constituencies after two hours of counting on Thursday.

Union Ministers Babul Supriyo and S.S. Alhuwalia were ahead in their respective Lok Sabha constituencies of Asansol and Burdwan-Durgapur by establishing a substantial margin of votes.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's nephew and Trinamool Congress MP Abhishek Banerjee is leading over his nearest rival Nilanjan Roy of BJP by close to 20,000 votes.

In Bongaon Lok Sabha seat, that is dominated by the Dalit Matua community BJP candidate and late Matua matriarch Binapani Thakur's grandson Shantanu Thakur is leading over his aunt and Trinamool Congress' sitting MP Mamata Bala Thakur.

Several Trinamool stalwarts like state minister Subrata Mukherjee (Bankura) and sitting MP Kalyan Banerjee (Sreerampore) are trailing.

Latest India News

IPL 2023: Read the fastest live coverage , analysis, records, interesting news of the T20 tournament only on India TV English Digital
Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from India