Indian T20 League 2018
  1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. IPL 10, MI vs KKR: Mumbai beat Kolkata by 4 wickets

IPL 10, MI vs KKR: Mumbai beat Kolkata by 4 wickets

India TV Sports Desk, Mumbai [ Updated: April 10, 2017 1:50 IST ]
Mumbai beat Kolkata by 4 wickets

Mumbai Indians defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to continue their dominance over their rivals at the Wankhede Stadium here on Sunday.

Chasing 179 for victory, Mumbai -- who have won 13 times in their 18 meetings so far with KKR -- were always up against it losing wickets at regular intervals.

But a late onslaught from left-hander Nitish Rana (50; 29b; 5x4, 3x6) and poor bowling at the death by Trent Boult and Ankit Rajpoot saw the men in purple throw away the tie which they should have won.

Rajpoot (3/37) bowled well until the 19th over when he went for 19 runs. Boult, KKR's pace spearhead, had a forgettable outing going for 47 runs in his four overs without taking a wicket.

Mumbai got off to a flying start as their openers Parthiv Patel (30, 27b; 3x4, 1x6) and Jos Buttler joined hands for a 65-run association for the first wicket.

Patel, who has the third-worst average in the IPL for anyone to have opened in the at least 20 innings, looked to be settling down as the Gujarat Ranji Trophy winning captain slog-swept chinaman Kuldeep Yadav for a huge six over wide long-on before the left-arm spinner got the back of the 32-year old.

Parthiv looked to sweep down the leg side again coming across his stumps with the ball straightening from off stump towards middle for a simple leg before wicket decision.

Buttler, who was looking good for his 28 (22b 1x4 2x6), followed suit in the next over, Ankit Rajpoot removing the England wicketkeeper who played across the line getting LBW in the process.

Skipper Rohit Sharma (2), who raised a few eyebrows by sending Rana ahead of him at No.3, lasted just six balls before Sunil Narine brought about the third leg before wicket of the innings.

In came Krunal Pandya, who starred with the ball (3/24), with his team in a spot of bother losing three wickets for just nine runs.

Together Krunal and Rana added 23 runs in good time for the fourth wicket but KKR dealt the hosts another timely blow.

Rajpoot was in the thick of things again, managing to get a thin edge off Krunal who tried to work the ball fine down the leg side with keeper Robin Uthappa pouching a regulation catch.

At 97/4, Keiron Pollard had a job to do when he joined Rana in the middle. The big-hitting West Indian though failed to conjure up any magic as KKR bowlers Kuldeep, Chris Woakes and Narine bottled up the pair towards the end of their essay.

Trying to up the ante, Pollard went for a heave but could manage as far as substitute Rishi Dhawan at third man.

There was no stopping Rana though. In the 18th over, the Delhi lad made Boult leak 19 runs with Hardik Pandya also joining the party.

There seemed to be no respite for Rajpoot as well before the Kanpur medium pacer sent the dangerous Rana back in the hut as the latter tried to make room for himself but holed in to Narine at point. In the end of the over, Rajpoot conceded 19 as well leaving Boult to defend 11 runs in the last over, which he eventually couldn't.

Earlier, a rampaging Manish Pandey led with an unbeaten 81, as KKR overcame mid-innings hiccups to post a challenging 178/7.


What a match! Tremendous finish from Hardik Pandya. And to think it came down to fielding!

* Mumbai 9 for no wickets after first over

* Burning the grass shot! Parthiv hit his first boundary

* Parthiv Patel opens with Jos Buttler against KKR

Manish Pandey takes KKR to a good total of 178

KKR are 137/5 after 17 overs.

* WICKET! Suryakumar Yadav caught at deep by Kieron Pollard off Lasith Malinga first ball after time out

* Wicket! Bumrah neutralises the Lynn threat! Removes him for 32 by trapping him 

* Blow to KKR! Two in the over for Krunal Pandya! Uthappa holes out. 

KKR are 44/0 after 4 overs.

* Mumbai Indians win toss, opt to field against Kolkata


Mumbai Indians: Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma (captain), Nitish Rana, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Woakes, Kuldeep Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Sunil Narine, Trent Boult.

Live Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018: FULL COVERAGE

VIVO IPL 2018: Click here to get Live Score Updates, Ball-by-Ball Commentary, Schedule, Points Table, Match Timing and Match Analysis.

Promoted Content
Indian T20 League 2018

Live Scorecard