1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Gayle, Russell headline West Indies' World Cup squad

Gayle, Russell headline West Indies' World Cup squad

Chris Gayle and Andre Russell headline West Indies 15-member World Cup squad which sees Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine miss out for the mega tournament.

New Delhi Published on: April 25, 2019 0:04 IST
Representative News Image
Image Source : AP

Gayle, Russell as included West Indies announce 15-member World Cup squad

Andre Russell's IPL exploits deservingly earned him a place in the Jason Holder-led 15-member West Indies squad for the World Cup in England and Wales starting May 30.

Russell has been in prime form for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL and has so far singlehandedly won four games for his franchise. 

However, Kieron Pollard of Mumbai Indians and Sunil Narine of KKR have not picked in the squad which also has 40-year-old Chris Gayle who will wear the West Indies jersey one last time.

Gayle's opening partner will be Evin Lewis and the talented duo of Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer are in the squad. 

Injured Alzarri Joseph has not been picked and the pace attack will be led by veteran Kemar Roach.

West Indies Squad for World Cup: Jason Holder (capt), Andre Russell, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Oshane Thomas, Shai Hope, Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer.

Election Results will be out on May 23 as counting of votes begins at 8 am. Catch the latest Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 log onto https://indiatvnews.com/elections. You can also watch Live Results on India TV Live. You can also follow India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma using #ResultsWithRajatSharma

India TV Election Day Counting

Live Scorecard