1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. David Warner accepts ball tampering ban sanctioned by Cricket Australia; joins Smith and Bancroft

David Warner accepts ball tampering ban sanctioned by Cricket Australia; joins Smith and Bancroft

Warner, Smith and Bancroft will now serve their suspension period as sanctioned by Cricket Australia after the controversial ball-tampering row.

India TV Sports Desk Edited by: India TV Sports Desk
New Delhi Published on: April 05, 2018 13:16 IST
Representative News Image
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

David Warner will now along with Steve Smith serve their one year ban.

David Warner has accepted the 12-month ban imposed on him by Cricket Australia, joining Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft in deciding not to appeal their suspensions over the ball-tampering scandal.

Warner announced his decision Thursday, a day after Smith and Bancroft revealed they would not appeal the heavy sanctions for bringing the game into disrepute during the Cape Town test against South Africa last month.


"I have today let Cricket Australia know that I fully accept the sanctions imposed on me. I am truly sorry for my actions and will now do everything I can to be a better person, teammate and role model," Warner said in a tweet.

Smith was also banned for 12 months, and Bancroft received a nine-month suspension.

The sanctions were significantly higher than any International Cricket Council penalties for ball tampering.

In his statement, Smith said "I meant what I said about taking full responsibility as captain of the team. I won't be challenging the sanctions. They've been imposed by CA to send a strong message and I have accepted them."

In a teary news conference at the airport when he returned to Sydney last week after being sent home from Australia's four-match tour, Smith apologized to all Australians for not doing enough to prevent the cheating plot.

He said he hoped to earn back the respect of fans and the rest of the country.

Bancroft confirmed on a social media post that he'd accepted the decision.


"I would love to put this behind me and will do whatever it takes to earn back the trust of the Australian public. Thank you to all those who have sent messages of support."

Get the latest Lok Sabha election 2019 news on https://indiatvnews.com/elections.. Follow Live Election Results on May 23 with India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma using #ResultsWithRajatSharma and #ElectionsWithIndiaTV.

ipl 2019

Live Scorecard