1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India News
  4. Modi set to take oath as 16th PM of India: Guest list, menu, traffic advisory and everything else

Modi set to take oath as 16th PM of India: Guest list, menu, traffic advisory and everything else

Prime Minister-Elect Narendra Modi will take oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday. Here is all the details you need about the Mega event

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Updated on: May 29, 2019 23:55 IST
PM Modi Swearing-in Ceremony: Everything you need to know
Image Source : AP

PM Modi Swearing-in Ceremony: Everything you need to know about the mega event

Riding high on the massive mandate, Prime Minister Narendra is all set to be sworn in as the 16th Prime Minister of India on Thursday. In what will be a grand affair of sorts, will have in attendance a highest ever 8,000 guests, including VVIPs. A number of heads of states, heads of governments, constitutional authorities, diplomats, senior political leaders, government officials, media persons, and other eminent personalities will grace the event. The swearing-in-ceremony of Modi and his Council of Ministers is scheduled to take place on Thursday at 7 PM at Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to all.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will visit 'Sadaiv Atal' and Rajghat, the 'samadhis' of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Mahatma Gandhi, ahead of his swearing-in on Thursday. Modi will also visit the National War Museum, according to BJP sources. They said Modi, during his visits to Rajghat and Sadaiv Atal will be accompanied by all the 303 newly-elected BJP Members of Parliament to pay homage to Gandhi and Vajpayee.

From guest list and menu to traffic advisory, take a look at everything you need to know:


A multi-layered security arrangement will be in place in the city on Thursday, with the deployment of around 10,000 security personnel from Delhi Police and paramilitary forces on account of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony which will be attended by foreign dignitaries and chief ministers and governors of several states among others. Quick Response Teams will be deployed at several crucial spots. Snipers will also be deployed atop several important buildings as Modi will visit Rajghat, Sadaiv Atal Samadhi and National War Memorial on Thursday to pay homage.

Over 2,000 security personnel will also be deployed along the route to be taken by Modi and other foreign dignitaries. The traffic advisory said several roads in New Delhi district will be closed for movement of public between 4 PM to 9 PM on Thursday and motorists and public were asked to avoid them. The advisory further said roads including Rajpath - from Vijay Chowk to Rashtrapati Bhavan, Vijay Chowk and adjoining areas including North and South fountain, South Avenue, North Avenue, Dara-Shikoh Road and Church Road will be closed for public between 4 PM and 9 PM.

A traffic official added that necessary traffic diversions will be given for several roads including Akbar Road, Rajpath, Teen Murti Marg, Krishna Menon Marg, Pandit Pant Marg, Talkatora Road, Gurudwara Rakab Ganj Road, Tyagaraj Marg and S.P. Marg. Similarly traffic diversions will be given on Khushak Road, K Kamaraj Marg, Rajaji Marg, Shanti Path, Raisina Road -- beyond Rail Bhawan roundabout towards Parliament House and Moti Lal Nehru Marg (beyond roundabout Udyog Bhawan towards R.P. Bhawan) which are expected to face congestion due to the ceremony, the traffic official added. Traffic signages have been provided for the information of invitees and public. All motorists are advised to follow the directions of the traffic police on duty, the advisory added.


Leaders of all BIMSTEC countries have confirmed their participation in the prime minister's swearing-in ceremony. Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth and Kyrgyz President Sooronbay Jeenbekov have confirmed their participation at the event. President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, and Prime Minister of Nepal K P Sharma Oli have confirmed their participation at the ceremony.

President of Myanmar U Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering have also confirmed their attendance at the event. From Thailand, its Special Envoy Grisada Boonrach will represent the country at the ceremony. 

According to PTI sources, the who's who of the country from sports legends Rahul Dravid and Saina Nehwal to movie superstars Rajinikanth and Shah Rukh Khan have been invited to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony.  Industry bigwigs such as Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani and Ratan Tata have also been invited for the event. Former sprinter P T Usha, cricketers Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Harbhajan Singh, badminton ace Saina Nehwal, badminton coach Pulella Gopichand and gymnast Dipa Karmakar are among the sports personalities invited to the ceremony, the sources said. Several film stars, including Kangana Ranaut, Shah Rukh Khan, Sanjay Bhansali, Karan Johar and Rajnikanth, have also been invited. 

Besides Ambani, Adani and Tata, business honchos Ajay Piramal, John Chambers and Bill Gates have also been extended invitation for Modi's swearing-in. IMF Managing Director and Chairman Christine Lagarde has also been invited, sources said. However, there was no confirmation on the invitees who have confirmed their presence.

Apart from CMs of BJP ruled states, prominent national leaders attending the event include Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Manmohan Singh and a host of other Congress leaders. Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray, newly appointed Chief Minister-designate Jaganmohan Reddy will also be present at the Rashtrapati Bhavan along with his family. BJP has extended the invitation to the family members of all the party workers who were killed in West Bengal in the last one year.


Rashtrapati Bhavan kitchen's speciality 'Dal Raisina' will be served to foreign delegates in a dinner to be hosted by President Ram Nath Kovind to dignitaries after the function. There will be light snacks for the guests attending the swearing-in ceremony like 'Paneer Tikka', an official said.
There will be a dinner which will be hosted by the president for about 40 guests. It will begin at 9 pm. Dal Raisina, a speciality of Rashtrapati Bhavan's kitchen, is cooked for about 48 hours. Its main ingredients are brought from Lucknow. The preparation of Dal Raisina started on Tuesday.

For the complete list of high-profile attendees read | PM Modi Swearing-In Ceremony: List of all the High-Profile guests

For the food menu of the Rashtrapati Bhavan read | PM Modi Swearing-In Ceremony: This is what the guests will be served at the mega event

For Modi 2.0's expected portfolios read | PM Modi Swearing-In Ceremony: Likely list of ministers 

For information on Live Streaming of the main event read | PM Modi Swearing-In Ceremony: Where and how to watch

Write a comment