1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. India News
  4. Coin Tossed Twice In World Cup Final

Coin Tossed Twice In World Cup Final

Mumbai, Apr 2:  Ever heard of the toss happening twice in a cricket match?Well, that's exactly what happened before the start of the Cricket World Cup final here at the Wankhede Stadium today between India

PTI [ Updated: April 02, 2011 16:36 IST ]
coin tossed twice in world cup final
coin tossed twice in world cup final

Mumbai, Apr 2:  Ever heard of the toss happening twice in a cricket match?Well, that's exactly what happened before the start of the Cricket World Cup final here at the Wankhede Stadium today between India and Sri Lanka.


Sri Lanka

When the coin was tossed by Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, there was confusion about what Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara had called - heads or tails.

After a brief discussion between Sangakkara and Dhoni,match referee Jeff Crowe decided that the toss would be held again.

The Lanka skipper called correctly on this occasion, and opted to bat first in the first-ever All-Asian final in the tournament's history.  PTI

Live Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018: FULL COVERAGE

VIVO IPL 2018: Click here to get Live Score Updates, Ball-by-Ball Commentary, Schedule, Points Table, Match Timing and Match Analysis.

Promoted Content