1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Himachal Pradesh: Is trouble brewing for Congress as Pratibha’s supporters stop Baghel’s convoy? Video

Himachal Pradesh: Is trouble brewing for Congress as Pratibha’s supporters stop Baghel’s convoy? Video

Himachal Pradesh: It often happens. Congress witnesses infightings post results over chief minister name. Last time Rajashtan saw the ugly fight over the CM post.

Raju Kumar Edited By: Raju Kumar @rajudelhi123 Shimla Updated on: December 09, 2022 17:44 IST
Supports mount for Pratibha Singh
Image Source : ANI Supports mount for Pratibha Singh

It seems the Himachal Pradesh Congress unit is heading towards familiar infighting over the name of the chief minister as the grand old party witnessed an outcry carried out by state party chief Pratibha Singh’s supporters on Friday.  

Her supporters gathered outside Oberoi Cecil hotel in Shimla showcasing their support to Singh while stopping Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel's carcade.

Also, party workers raised slogans in her support outside the Congress office in Shimla.

The Congress, which wrested power from the BJP in Himachal Pradesh, met all its newly-elected MLAs to decide on the chief minister's name. The Congress on Thursday won 40 seats in the 68-member Assembly in the hill state which maintained its tradition of not voting any incumbent government to power since 1985.

Deciding on the chief ministerial face who can bind the party going forward is the immediate challenge for Congress.

Who all are in the CM race?

State party president Pratibha Singh is considered a key frontrunner for the chief minister's post, closely followed by former party chief Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu and outgoing CLP leader Mukesh Agnihotri. Though Pratibha Singh did not contest the assembly election and is not an MLA, she had campaigned extensively across the state. Singh is presently the Mandi MP after she won in the bye-election from outgoing chief minister Jairam Thakur's home district.

Pratibha Singh's son Vikramaditya has been elected as an MLA from Shimla rural and is also among the hopefuls, even though many consider him too young for the top post. The other CM aspirants are Sukhu, an MLA from Nadaun, and Agnihotri, who was elected from Haroli. Both are hopeful that the party high command would recognise their work as former PCC chief and as Congress Legislature Party leader.

Also read: Himachal: Pratibha Singh's strong note for Congress boss - 'Can't neglect Virbhadra's family'

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election