1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Politics
  4. National
  5. Election results 2017: Close fight between Congress, BJP in Goa and Manipur

Election results 2017: Close fight between Congress, BJP in Goa and Manipur

Counting of votes for all 40 constituencies in Goa and 100 seats in Manipur is underway.

India TV Politics Desk India TV Politics Desk New Delhi Updated on: March 11, 2017 17:42 IST
Goa CM loses Mandrem seat to Congress
Goa CM loses Mandrem seat to Congress


Goa today appeared heading for a hung Assembly with ruling BJP and opposition Congress unlikely to cross the half-way mark in the 40-member House, putting the spotlight on smaller parties in government formation.

The Congress managed to secured 17 seats followed by BJP winning 13 seats. Regional outfits Goa Forward and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) have won three seats each. While NCP emerged victorious in one seat, Independents won two constituencies.

The BJP had 21 seats in the outgoing House in Goa, where it came to power in 2012.

The saffron party has suffered a big setback as Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar lost from Mandrem. His Cabinet colleagues Dayanand Mandrekar (Siolim) and Dilip Parulekar (Saligao) also lost. Prominent Congress winners included former chief minister Digambar Kamat.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which entered the fray with much fanfare, failed to make any impact at the hustings. The Goa Suraksha Manch, floated by RSS rebel Subhash Velingkar, and Shiv Sena, also failed to make any breakthrough though their alliance partner MGP romped home in three seats. MGP had severed ties with BJP just before the February 4 polls and became part of the three-party front. 

Live Updates:

* State Tourism Minister Dilip Parulekar (BJP) loses to Goa Forward nominee Jayesh Salgaoncar by 2,150 votes in Saligao constituency. 

* Goa Forward Party (GFP), floated just a year ago, emerged a force to reckon with, winning three seats

* Former Goa CM Digambar Kamat of Congress wins from Margao 

* Nationalist Congress Party's Churchill Alemao won from Benaulim.

* Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP) contestant Dipak Pawaskar defeated Ganesh Gaonkar of BJP in Sanvordem. 

* Leader of Opposition Pratapsinh Rane (Congress) is leading BJP's Vishwajit Krishnarao Rane in Poriem seat. 

* Goa Forward candidate Vinod Palyekar defeats BJP candidate and State minister Dayanand Mandrekar in Siolim constituency. 

* Goa Deputy CM Francis D'Souza defeated his nearest rival Vinod Phadke of the MGP in Mapusa constituency.

* CM Laxmikant Parsekar lost Mandrem assembly seat by a margin of nearly 5,000 votes to Congress rival Dayanand Sopte.

* Goa: MGP's Dipak Pawaskar defeats Ganesh Gaonkar of BJP by 1,169 votes in Sanvordem constituency 

* Congress leading  in 11 seats, BJP in 8

* Goa: Congress leads on three seats, BJP on one, MGP-one and Goa Forward Party on two

* CM Laxmikant Parsekar (BJP) trails Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte by 1,700 votes in Mandrem constituency.

* CM Laxmikant Parsekar trailing by 1000+ votes, Congress leading from Mandrem

* BJP leading in 3 seats

* Counting begins for 40 seats at two centres 


The ruling Congress today bagged 19 seats and is leading in four other constituencies in Manipur, which seems to be heading for a hung assembly. 

Putting up a creditable performance, the BJP has won 17 seats and is ahead in 5 other constituencies in the north-eastern state. Of the 60 seats, results and trends of 55 constituencies were available till 4 PM. 

The Naga Peoples Front (NPF) and National Peoples Party (NPP) have bagged three seats, while the latter is leading in one. Lokjanshakti Party and an Independent captured one seat each. 

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh won from Thoubal Assembly seat defeating L Basanta Singh of BJP by 10,400 votes. Rights activist Irom Sharmila, who had contested against the Chief Minister, finished fourth securing only 90 votes. 

Other prominent Congress candidates who won included Md Abdul Naser and K Jaikishen Singh. N Biren Singh, a key BJP leader, emerged victorious from Heingang Assembly seat. Other prominent BJP nominees who won included Sapam R Singh and Heikham Dingo Singh. Y Jaikumar Singh and Langpoklakpam J Singh of Nationalist People's Party (NPP) emerged victorious from Uripok and Keishamthong seat, respectively. 

The Naga People's Front won from Mao (ST), Tamei (ST) and Phungyar (ST) seats. Lokjanshakti party won Langthabal seat.

Live Updates:

* I want to quit fighting any type of election: Irom Sharmila 

* Manipur CM Okram Ibobi Singh wins from Thoubal seat

* BJP leading in 15 seats, Congress in 12

* Rights activist Irom Sharmila (PRJA) is trailing behind

* BJP leading in 1 seats, Congress in 2 

* CM Ibobi Singh of Congress is leading over Leitanthem Basanta Singh (BJP) in Thoubal Assembly seat

* Counting begins for 60 seats 

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Politics and National Section