1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Entertainment
  4. Bollywood
  5. National Awards 2017: Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor honoured by President Pranab Mukherjee

National Awards 2017: Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor honoured by President Pranab Mukherjee

Bollywood’s Khiladi, Akshay Kumar and actress Sonam Kapoor were in a celebration mood and were accompanied by their family members to celebrate their moment of glory at the 64th National Film Awards ceremony here on Wednesday.

India TV Entertainment Desk India TV Entertainment Desk New Delhi Updated on: May 03, 2017 23:39 IST
Sonam Kapoor
Sonam Kapoor receives National Award for Neerja

Akshay Kumar and Sonam Kapoor were in a celebration mood and were accompanied by their family members to celebrate their moment of glory at the 64th National Film Awards ceremony on Wednesday. Watch Video

Akshay was named the Best Actor for his performance in Rustom -- a choice criticised by a cross-section of people. But he was happy and proud of being a part of the ceremony with his "most important people" - his wife Twinkle and son Aarav. 

"An important day in my life with the most important people in the world to me, my family. National Film Awards," Akshay tweeted along with his family photo, featuring his wife and son both dressed in traditional wear. Akshay sported a black ensemble and matched a bright pink pocket square with his wife's sari pallu for the event at the capital's Vigyan Bhavan.

India Tv - National Awards gala, Akshay Kumar

National Awards gala: Akshay Kumar, Sonam Kapoor attend it with families

It was all about celebrating the win with family also in the case of Sonam, who has got a Special Mention for her brave act in "Neerja".

Sonam, a fashion icon, styled up in a subtle pistachio green sari, with heavy kundan jewellery. She tied her hair in a neat bun with 'gajra' in place. Her proud father actor-producer Anil Kapoor, dressed in a black bandhgala, accompanied her along with her mother Sunita. He gave the loudest cheer when Sonam got up to receive her award.

"Dressed up and all set to accompany Sonam Kapoor for the National Awards in Delhi! It's a happy day," Anil posted on Instagram.

Soon after the ceremony, Akshay Kumar took to Twitter to thank . He wrote, “No words can do justice to the joy I feel at this moment…sharing with you all my first ever #NationalFilmAward! Thank you for the love.

Complete list of winners of 64th National Awards 

Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi)

Best Direction: Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator (Marathi)
Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom (Hindi)
Best Actress: Surabhi C.M for Minnaminungu – the Firefly (Malayalam)
Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi for Dashakriya (Marathi)
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim for Dangal (Hindi)
Best Child Artist: Adish Praveen for Kunju Daivam (Malayalam), Nur Islam and Samiul Alam for Sahaj Pather Gappo (Bengali), Manohara. K for Railway Children (Kannada)
Best Male Playback Singer: Sundharayyar for song Jasmie E from film Joker (Tamil)
Best Female Playback Singer: Iman Chakraborty for song Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho from film Praktan (Bengali)
Best Cinematography: S. Thirunavukarasu for 24 (Tamil)


Screenplay writer (original): Syam Pushkaran for Maheshinte Prathikooram (Malayalam)
Screenplay Writer (Adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patil for Dashakriya (Marathi)
​Dialogues: Tarun Bhascker for Peli Chuplu (Telugu)


Sound Designer: Jayadevan Chakka Dath for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram (Malayalam)

Re-recordist of the final mixed track: Alok De for Ventilator (Marathi)

Best Editing: Rameshwar for Ventilator (Marathi)

Best Production Design: Subrata Chakraborthy, Shreyas Khedekar and Amit Ray for 24 (Tamil)

Best Costume Designer: Sachin Lovalekar for Cycle (Marathi)

Best Make-up Artist: NK Ramakrishna for Allama (Kannada)

Best Music Direction (Songs /Background Score): Bapu Padmanabha for Allama (Kannada)

Best Lyrics: Vairamuthu for song Entha Pakkam from film Dharma Durai (Tamil), Anupam Roy for Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho from Praktan(Bengali)

Special Jury Award: Mohan Lal

Best Choreography: Raju Sundaram for Janatha Garrage(Telugu)

Best Special Effect: Naveen Paul for Shivaay (Hindi)


Sonam Kapoor for Neerja (Hindi)

Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) and Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese) Producer Red Carper Moving Pictures and director Shubhashish

Bhutiani for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) Producer Eleeanora Images Private Ltd and director Nila

Madhab Panda for Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)

Best Feature Film in each of the language specified in the Schedule VIII of the Constitution

Best Assamese Film: Maj Rati Keteki

Best Bengali Film: Bisorjon

Best Hindi Film: Neerja

Best Kannada Film: Reservation

Best Konkani Film: K Sera Sera –Ghodpachen Ghoddtelem

Best Malayalam Film: Maheshinte Prathikaaram

Best Marathi Film: Dashakriya

Best Telugu Film: Peli Chuplu

Best Gujarati Film: Wrong Side Raju

Best Tamil Film: Joker

Best Feature Film in each of the languages other than those specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution

Best Moran Film: Haanduk

Best Tulu Film: Madipu


Best Non Feature Film: Fireflies In The Abyss

Best Debut Film of a Director: Soz…A Ballad of Maladies by Tushar Madhav

Best Biographical/ Historical Reconstruction: Zikr Us

Parivashka: Begum Akhtar

Best Arts/Cultural Film: In The Shadow of Time and The Lord of The Universe

Best Environment Film including Agriculture: The Tiger Who Crossed The Line

Best Film on Social Issues: I Am Jeeja and Sanath

Best Educational Film: The Waterfall

Best Exploration/Adventure Film: Matitle Kusti

Best Investigative Film: Placebo

Best Animation Film: Hum Chitra Banate Hain

Special Jury Award: The Cinema Travellers

Best Short Fiction Film: Aaba

Best Film on Family Values: Little Magician

Best Direction: Aaba Aiktaay Naa?

Best Cinematography: Kalpvriksha” and Adnyat

Best Audiography: In Return Just A Book

Best Editing: Gudh

Best Music: Leeches

Best Narration/Voice Over: Makino


Director Amitabh Parashar for The Eyes of Darkness

Director Ramen Borah and Sibanu Borah for Sikar Aru Sitkar

Director Soumya Sadanandan for Chembai-Descoperire A Mea Unei Legend


Best Book on Cinema: Lata : Sur Gatha by Yatindra Mishra

Best Film Critic: G. Dhananjayan

Most Film Friendly State Award: State of Uttar Pradesh

Special Mention: State of Jharkhand

(With IANS Inputs)

Latest Bollywood News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Entertainment and Bollywood Section