1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Tripura Civic Polls: BJP sweeps Agartala Municipal Corporation election; TMC, CPI(M) fail to open account

Tripura Civic Polls: BJP sweeps Agartala Municipal Corporation election; TMC, CPI(M) fail to open account

Apart from the scheduled security deployment, Tripura State Rifles and central armed police force have been deployed for the maintenance of law and order in areas adjoining the counting centers.

India TV News Desk Edited by: India TV News Desk New Delhi Updated on: November 28, 2021 17:24 IST
Tripura civic polls counting live updates
Image Source : PTI

Three-tier security in place for civic poll counting in Tripura today


  • Polls in the state were held on Thursday amid court cases, arrests and allegations of attacks
  • Altogether there are 334 seats in the urban local bodies
  • BJP has fielded candidates in all seats in the Tripura civic elections and has already won 112 seats

The Bhartiya Janata Party came out with flying colors in the Tripura civic polls, as it managed to bag all seats in the 51-member Agartala Municipal Corporation. The opposition TMC and CPI(M) failed to open their account in the AMC, said the State Election Commission on Sunday.

Polling took place on November 25 for 222 seats. Out of these, BJP bagged 217 seats. The CPM has won three seats, the Trinamool and TIPRA Motha one seat each. 

The BJP has won 329 seats out of the total 334 seats, including AMC with 51 wards, 13 municipal councils, and six nagar panchayats. 

 In Khowai Municipal Council has 15 seats, the BJP has swept. In Melaghar Municipal Council BJP candidates won all 13 seats. In Sonamura Nagar Panchayat, BJP won in all 13 seats. In Kailashahar, BJP won in 16 seats and CPIM in one. In Belonia, BJP candidates declared winners in 16 out of 17 seats.  In Sabroom Nagar Panchayat BJP candidates swept in all 9 seats.

In Kumarghat Municipal Council, BJP candidates won in all 15 seats.

In Teliamura BJP won in all 15 seats. In Ambassa, BJP won 12 seats, while TMC, CPIM, and TIPRA Motha had one seat each. In Amarpur, BJP won in all 13 seats. In Panisagar, BJP won in 12 seats and CPIM in one seat.

Jirania Nagar Panchayat lone seat BJP candiadte won.

Out of the total 334 seats including Agartala Municipal Corporation (51 wards), 13 municipal councils, and six Nagar panchayats in the state, the ruling BJP won in 112 seats spread across 20 urban bodies uncontested. No other parties had filed candidates in seven ULBs.

The elections were held in the remaining 222 seats spread across 13 ULBs including AMC in which as many as 785 contestants are in the fray after 36 candidates withdrew their nominations.

Counting for the rest of the municipal councils is underway.

Counting of votes for over 200 seats in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and other civic bodies in Tripura, where elections were held earlier amid allegations of rigging and attacks on political rivals, began on Sunday.

An official of the State Election Commission said the counting started in 13 centers in all the eight districts of the state where three-tier security is in place.

There are 334 seats in urban local bodies - the AMC, 13 Municipal Councils and six Nagar Panchayats - in the state. The ruling BJP had fielded candidates in all the seats and won 112 of them uncontested.

The TMC which alleged vote-rigging and intimidation in elections held on Thursday had demanded countermanding of the entire election while the CPI(M) had sought fresh elections in five municipal bodies including the AMC.

Both parties had claimed that the authorities remained silent spectators as BJP supporters attacked political rivals and rigged the election. The saffron party however stoutly denied the charges.

Altogether 81.54 percent of over 4.93 lakh voters exercised their franchise in the election.

(With inputs from PTI)

Also Read | Tripura municipal polls: TMC moves SC alleging violation of court orders for free and fair elections

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election