1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Aaj Ki Baat News
  4. Opinion | Aaj ki Baat April 23 episode: The reasons why Modi is giving sleepless nights to Mamata, Naveen Patnaik

Opinion | Aaj ki Baat April 23 episode: The reasons why Modi is giving sleepless nights to Mamata, Naveen Patnaik

Prime Minister Modi has therefore decided to strike when the iron is hot. On Tuesday, he named Naveen Patnaik and said that he would not tolerate attacks on BJP workers by the ruling party supporters.

Rajat Sharma Rajat Sharma
New Delhi Published on: April 24, 2019 11:32 IST
Rajat Sharma, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, India TV
Image Source : INDIA TV

Rajat Sharma, Chairman and Editor-in-Chief, India TV

On Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi taunted West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee by saying that if the post of Prime Minister had been available through auction, she would have tried that option too, but the problem is that the post of PM is not auctionable. Modi was addressing an election rally in Asansol, from where Union Minister Babul Supriyo is trying to retain his seat. 

On the same day, Mamata Banerjee openly objected to the posting of Central paramilitary forces at polling booths. She alleged that officers of paramilitary forces were telling voters to vote for BJP. Her charges are yet to be verified but it clearly denotes uneasiness on her part about the possible Lok Sabha results from West Bengal. 

Huge turnouts at PM's rallies are common, but the surprising element this time is that large turnouts have been noticed at BJP President Amit Shah's election rallies in places like Birbhum and Bardhaman, considered to be strongholds of Trinamool Congress. Clearly a shift in the rural voters' mood in Bengal is discernible. 

You may remember, in 2014, when Modi wave was sweeping across the rest of the country, it had hardly any effect in Bengal. There was hardly any optimism in the state BJP camp, and Mamata did not take BJP as her main challenger. Finally, the BJP won only two out of a total of 42 LS seats. But, in the last five years, both Modi and Amit Shah toiled hard to expand the BJP's election machinery in Bengal, and the results are showing. BJP flags now flutter over housetops in the interior areas of Bengal. 

BJP top brass now believe that Bengal and, to some extent, Odisha can compensate for any electoral loss that the party may suffer in the North Indian states.  During the last panchayat elections in Bengal, TMC workers prevented BJP workers from reaching polling booths. This is no more the case now. 

The Election Commission is holding polls in seven phases in Bengal, with four to five constituencies going to the polls in each phase. Central paramilitary forces have been deployed in large numbers, and there has been heavy polling in all the phases so far. This has caused worry in Mamata's camp. 

In neighbouring state of Odisha, assembly polls are being held simultaneously with LS elections, and Chief Minsiter Naveen Patnaik's Biju Janata Dal is fighting to get a fifth term in office. Patnaik has been in power since last 19 years and he is quite popular. In the 2014 LS polls, BJD had won 20 out of 21 seats, and the lone remaining seat was won by BJP. 

In Odisha, the main opposition party Congress has weakened and the ruling BJD dominates in most of the constituencies. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has personal worries about his health and there is the anti-incumbency factor too. 

Prime Minister Modi has therefore decided to strike when the iron is hot. On Tuesday, he named Naveen Patnaik and said that he would not tolerate attacks on BJP workers by the ruling party supporters. Clearly, Modi has found a good opportunity to grab the political space in Odisha. The jury is still out.

Watch the full episode here: 

Aaj Ki Baat: Monday to Friday, 9 PM

India’s Number One and the most followed Super Prime Time News Show ‘Aaj Ki Baat – Rajat SharmaKe Saath’ was launched just before the 2014 General Elections. Since its inception, the show is redefining India’s super prime time and is numerically far ahead of its contemporaries.


Election Results will be out on May 23 as counting of votes begins at 8 am. Catch the latest Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 log onto https://indiatvnews.com/elections. You can also watch Live Results on India TV Live. You can also follow India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma using #ResultsWithRajatSharma

India TV Election Day Counting