1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India News
  4. Monsoon Session of Parliament from July 18: List of Bills to be taken up

Monsoon Session of Parliament from July 18: List of Bills to be taken up

The Monsoon Session of the Parliament will be addressing various Bills and ordinances. The session will also introduce new Bills within a span of 18 days

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Updated on: July 02, 2018 7:20 IST
Monsoon Session of Parliament
Image Source : PTI

Monsoon Session of Parliament from July 18

Union Minister Vijay Goel on Sunday said that the bills that have been listed for the upcoming Monsoon Session of Parliament are of public interest. The government will approach opposition parties to ensure the smooth passage of those bills, he added.

The Monsoon Session will commence on July 18 and will go on till August 10.

Goel met Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Sunday and informed him that the government wants to ensure smooth running of both houses of the Parliament. The Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs also told Venkaiah Naidu that he had already held a meet with former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in this regard.

Here are the Bills listed for the Parliament’s Monsoon Session:

  1. 123rd Constitutional Amendment bill, to grant constitutional status to the National Commission for Backward Classes
  2. Constitution (Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes) Orders (Amendment) Bill, to aid in the inclusion of excluded tribes
  3. Surrogacy (Regulation) Bill that bans commercial surrogacy
  4. Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill or the triple talaq bill
  5. Rights of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017
  6. The Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016
  7. The National Medical Commission Bill, 2017
  8. The Code of Wages Bill
  9. The Factories (Amendment) Bill
  10. The Contract Labour Amendment Bill
  11. The bill to open an international arbitration centre in Delhi
  12. Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill
  13. Dam Safety Bill, 2018

There are six ordinances that will be replaced. Those include:

  1. Fugitive Economic Offenders Ordinance
  2. Criminal Law (Amendment) Ordinance
  3. Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of HCs (Amendment) Ordinance
  4. Homoeopathy Central Council (Amendment) Ordinance
  5. National Sports University Ordinance
  6. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Ordinance

Write a comment