1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Bhopal Lok Sabha result: BJP’s Pragya Thakur leads

Bhopal Lok Sabha result: BJP’s Pragya Thakur leads

Counting of votes has begun in the Bhopal constituency of Madhya Pradesh. Early trends show Pragya Thakur of the BJP to be in the lead.

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Published on: May 23, 2019 8:57 IST
Election result 2019: Bhopal Constituency

Election result 2019: Bhopal Constituency

Counting of votes in the Bhopal parliamentary constituency has begun. Sadhvi Pragya Thakur of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken an early lead over senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Digvijaya Singh.

Bhopal saw the registered voters cast their ballot on May 12 with a turnout of over 65 per cent. 

The Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency has been held by the BJP since 1989. In 2014, Alok Sanjar of the BJP won this seat with over 63 per cent vote share against Congress’ PC Sharma.

Bhopal has been in the limelight ahead of Lok Sabha election 2019 after BJP nominated Malegaon blasts accused Sadhvi Pragya Thakur as its candidate from the seat.

Candidates in fray: BJP's Pragya Thakur will be up against veteran Congress leader Digvijay Singh and Madho Singh Ahirwar of the BSP.


Name of Candidate

Political Party

Sadhvi Pragya Thakur

Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP)

Digvijay Singh

Indian National Congress (INC)

Madho Singh Ahirwar

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)


Lok Sabha election 2014 result: BJP’s Alok Sanjar won the Bhopal constituency comfortably in 2014 with 63.19 per cent vote share. Congress’ PC Sharma came distant second with 30 per cent vote share.

Latest India News

Write a comment