Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Independence Day celebrations: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari unfurls the Tricolour at his residence in Delhi​

Independence Day celebrations: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari unfurls the Tricolour at his residence in Delhi​

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari unfurled the Tricolour at his residence in Delhi on Wednesday. ​

India TV News Desk Edited by: India TV News Desk New Delhi Updated on: August 15, 2018 14:47 IST

Celebrations for the 72nd Independence Day have begun across the country as Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to address the nation. Top ministers and leaders across states are expected to unfurl the national flag at their constituencies and residences.

Border Security Force (BSF) at the India-Bangladesh border at Agartala-Akhaura exchanged sweets with their Bangladeshi counterpart ahead of the Independence Day celebrations on Tuesday.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh on Wednesday unfurled the national flag at his residence in Delhi and gave sweets to security personnel.

Here are the updates of the Independence Day celebrations:

01:57 pm: Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu met school children at his residence in Delhi

01:54 pm: Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu in Amaravati and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar in Patna unfurled the Tricolour today

01:50 pm: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari unfurls the Tricolour at his residence in Delhi

01:36 pm: High Commissioner of India to Pakistan Ajay Bisaria hoists the national flag at the Indian High Commission in Islamabad

01:21 pm: Border Security Force (BSF) celebrates Independence Day with school children in RS Pura sector of Jammu and Kashmir

01:04 pm: Telangana CM K Chandrasekhar Rao unfurls the Tricolour at Golconda Fort in Hyderabad

12:06 pm: President Kovind pays tribute at Amar Jawan Jyoti. Army Chief General Bipin Rawat, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sunil Lanba and Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa are also present

12:01 pm: Veteran BJP leader LK Advani unfurls the Tricolour at his residence in Delhi 

11:26 am: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal unfurls the Tricolour at Chhatrasal Stadium 

10:55 am: Fiji is the 1st place where Indian Tricolour was hoisted today. INS Sahyadri paraded the Guard and the flag was hoisted by Vishwas Sapkal, High Commissioner of India to Fiji, with Capt Shantanu Jha, CO INS Sahyadri and Capt Manish Rai DA

10:54 am: Mohammed Muthu Meera Lebbai Maraikayar, the elder brother of APJ Abdul Kalam unfurls Tricolour at Kalam House in Rameswaram

10:51 am: Pakistan Rangers and BSF exchange sweets at Attari- Wagah border in Punjab 

10:48 am: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee unfurls the national flag in Kolkata

10:18 am: Exchange of sweets between India and Bangladesh at the Indo-Bangladesh border at BOP Fulbari, West Bengal 

10:09 am: Congress President Rahul Gandhi unfurls the tricolour at Party headquarters in Delhi

09:43 am: BJP President Amit Shah unfurls the national flag at Party headquarters in Delhi. Politicians and leaders across the country are hoisting the national flag on 72nd Independence Day. 

09:41 am: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami unfurls the tricolour in Chennai

09:27 am: Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) chief Mohan Bhagwat unfurls the national flag at Rashtrotthana Vidya Kendra in Karnataka's Bengaluru. India is celebrating 72nd Independence Day today.

09:21 am: 

07:25 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at Delhi's Red Fort, to address the nation shortly

07:13 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi pays tribute to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat in Delhi

07:12 am: 

07:11 am: 

07:07 am: 

06:59 am: 

06:57 am: 

Latest India News