1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election News
  4. Karnataka Assembly Elections News
  5. Karnataka swearing-in ceremony: HD Kumaraswamy takes oath as CM, Parameshwara sworn in as deputy CM | As it happened

Karnataka swearing-in ceremony: HD Kumaraswamy takes oath as CM, Parameshwara sworn in as deputy CM | As it happened

Janata Dal (Secular) chief HD Kumaraswamy took oath as Karnataka chief minister on Wednesday. Congress' G Parameshwara took oath as the deputy CM of the state.

India TV Politics Desk India TV Politics Desk
Bengaluru Updated on: May 23, 2018 19:34 IST

Janata Dal (Secular) chief HD Kumaraswamy took oath as Karnataka chief minister on Wednesday. The southern state got its second CM in a week after BJP's BS Yeddyurappa resigned moments before floor test in the Karnataka Assembly on last Saturday, May 19.

Kumaraswamy, the third son of JD(S) supremo and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Vala in front of the Vidhana Soudha. Following Kumaraswamy, senior Congress leader G Parameshwara took oath as Karnataka's deputy CM.

22 of Karnataka's 34 ministries will be from the Congress while the JD(S) will head the 12 others. The portfolios will be decided after the floor test which is scheduled to be held on Thursday, May 24.

Both the parties have decided to share the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly evenly. While the Speaker will be from the Congress, his deputy from JD(S). Congress has named Ramesh Kumar for the Speaker's chair. The JD(S) is yet to finalise a name.

Meanwhile, the BJP is observing a 'black day' against the Congress-JDS government headed by H D Kumaraswamy ahead of its swearing-in, and gave a call to the "sidelined" Congress leaders in the new coalition to join the saffron party. 

Here are the highlights:

07:34 pm: 

06:28 pm: 

05:04 pm: Leaders of 13 Opposition parties -- Congress, JD(S), NCP SP, BSP, RJD, TMC, CPM, TDP, JMM, RLD, CPI and AAP -- were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

04:42 pm: Sonia GandhiRahul Gandhi, Mayawati, Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav, Tejashvi Yadav, Sharad Pawar, Sharad Yadav, Pinarai Vijayan, Sitaram Yechuri and Narayanswami present in the ceremony.

04:38 pm: Kumaraswamy takes oath as Karnataka CM, Congress' G Parameshwara takes oath as deputy CM. 

04:34 pm:  

04:26 pm: Sonia and Rahul Gandhi reach the swearing-in ceremony. Hold talks with other Opposition leaders.  

04:25 pm: 

04:18 pm: 

04:15 pm: 

04:11 pm: 

03:56 pm: According to reports, rains could delay the swearing-in ceremony.  

03:51 pm: 

03:50 pm: 

03:44 pm: 

03:31 pm: 

03:02 pm: 

02:58 pm: Rains in Bengaluru ahead of Karnataka swearing in ceremony, scheduled at 4:30 pm

02:08 pm: No one is unhappy, we all are together. We are celebrating that our government is coming in power. I never said that I'm an aspirant of Karnataka Chief Minister post. All is well: DK Shivakumar, Congress 

02:00 pm: Sitaram Yechury, Sharad Pawar and Akhilesh Yadav arrive in Bengaluru to take part in the oath-taking ceremony of JD(S)' HD Kumaraswamy as the Chief Minister of Karnataka

01:24 pm: We've come here to witness swearing in ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy & express our solidarity to him. In future we'll work together to protect & promote the national interest. We're here to strengthen all regional parties: Andhra CM N Chandrababu Naidu & WB CM Mamata Banerjee in Bengaluru

12:40 pm: BJP observing 'Anti-People's Mandate Day' in #Karnataka in view of the swearing-in ceremony of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition government. BS Yeddyurappa says, 'hunger, greed & power is the basis of JD(S)-Congress alliance, such alliance will not even last 3 months'

11:58 am: Shiv Sena had received invitation too (for HD Kumaraswamy's swearing-in ceremony), HD Deve Gowda ji invited Uddhav ji hoping someone from us would come but all of us are busy for Palghar Lok Sabha By-Election. So we can't go but our best wishes are with him: Sanjay Raut,Shiv Sena

11:08 am: All the promises made in the manifesto will be implemented. Safeguarding the interest of the farming community is our top priority: Karnataka CM designate HD Kumaraswamy

10:30 am: It's the high command which decides all these, they chose me. I thank them immensely but the point is they're also eligible but they gave me this opportunity: G Parameshwara, Dy CM designate on being asked that Roshan Baig & DK Shivakumar were also in the race for Dy CM Karnataka

Top Opposition leaders to attend oath-taking ceremony

A huge stage has been erected in front of the majestic Vidhan Soudha for the oath-taking ceremony where a host of national and regional leaders are expected to be present to send a message across to the BJP over the shape of things to come in 2019. 

Government officials and sources in the JD(S) said Congress president Rahul Gandhi, his mother and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, N Chandrababu Naidu, Arvind Kejriwal and Pinarayi Vijayan, her counterparts in Andhra Pradesh, Delhi and Kerala respectively, are among those likely to be present. 

CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, Tejashwi Yadav, the Leader of Opposition in the Bihar Assembly and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah are also likely to attend the event.

BSP chief Mayawati and SP leader Akhilesh Yadav, who have formed an alliance in Uttar Pradesh, would also be present at Kumaraswamy's oath-taking ceremony, which has now become a show of Opposition's strength.  

Watch: Kumaraswamy to take oath as Karnataka CM today

(With inputs from agencies)

Write a comment

Bigg boss 13