Monday, May 27, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Uttar Pradesh
  4. Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Samajwadi Party changes another candidate in these seats

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Samajwadi Party changes another candidate in these seats

The candidate was changed after the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) named actor Arun Govil from the same seat.

Reported By : Vishal Singh Edited By : Hritika Mitra
New Delhi
Updated on: April 02, 2024 12:57 IST
Earlier, Bhanu  Pratap Singh was to contest from the Meerut
Image Source : INDIA TV Earlier, Bhanu Pratap Singh was to contest from the Meerut seat.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday changed another Lok Sabha candidate in Uttar Pradesh. Akhilesh Yadav's party replaced two candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, scheduled to take place in a few weeks. The party has named Atul Pradhan from Meerut and Suresh Chandra Kadam from Agra.

Earlier, Bhanu  Pratap Singh was to contest from the Meerut seat. Bhanu Pratap is a Supreme Court lawyer. Bhanu Pratap Singh had formed his own party the Janhit Sangharsh Party (JSP). He contested the Legislative Assembly elections from Bulandshahr in 2017, where he got only 1224 votes while his deposit was confiscated.

Earlier in the day, SP fielded Meera Deepak Yadav from the Khajuraho Lok Sabha constituency replacing Manoj Yadav. Meera is former MLA from Madhya Pradesh’s Niwari seat. Meera Yadav is set to challenge the incumbent MP and Madhya Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party leader, VD Sharma, in the upcoming election.

SP changes Noida candidate

Over a week after declaring Rahul Awana as its candidate for Lok Sabha elections in Gautam Buddha Nagar, the SP nominated Dr Mahendra Nagar again. The Samajwadi Party has so far released seven lists, announcing candidates for 48 seats. As part of a seat-sharing deal with the SP, the Congress will contest in 17 parliamentary constituencies in Uttar Pradesh. Notably, Dr Mahendra Nagar was on March 16 declared as the SP candidate only to be replaced by Rahul Awana on March 20. 

Lok Sabha elections 2024

The seven-phase Lok Sabha polls, the world’s biggest election exercise, will kick off on April 19 with the counting of votes set to take place on June 4 as Prime Minister Narendra Modi makes a bid for a third consecutive term in office.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said over 97 crore voters – 49.7 crore males and 47.1 crore females – were eligible to cast their vote in the polling process spread over 44 days and across 10.5 lakh polling booths. The elections will begin on April 19 followed by subsequent phases on April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25 and June 1.  

ALSO READ | Lok Sabha polls 2024: Samajwadi Party replaces MP's Khajuraho candidate, gives ticket to Meera Yadav

ALSO READ | Lok Sabha elections: Rahul Gandhi has no right to talk about democracy, says Amit Shah in Rajasthan


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Uttar Pradesh