Friday, June 21, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Sports
  4. Other
  5. Lok Sabha Elections: Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and other cricketers cast votes in fifth phase | WATCH

Lok Sabha Elections: Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and other cricketers cast votes in fifth phase | WATCH

The former and current Indian cricketers exercised their democratic right to vote as India held its fifth polling phase on May 20. Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and Manoj Tiwary among others went to the polling booths to cast their votes.

Edited By: Varun Malik @varunm0212 New Delhi Updated on: May 20, 2024 18:15 IST
Sachin Tendulkar, Lok Sabha Elections 2024
Image Source : PTI Sachin Tendulkar with his son Arjun Tendulkar.

Lok Sabha Elections: Former Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar, and Sunil Gavaskar among others on Monday exercised their democratic rights of voting in the fifth polling phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024. The fifth phase of polling began at 7 AM across six states and two Union Territories on May 20.

Sachin accompanied by his son Arjun Tendulkar - a Mumbai Indians player - went to a polling booth in Mumbai to cast their votes. They also posed with their inked finger after fulfilling their civic duties. The Tendulkar family resides in Bandra West. 

After exercising his democratic right, Tendulkar, who is also the National Icon of ECI, expressed his happiness and appealed to all the voters to cast their votes. 

"I am the national icon of ECI and I was involved in quite a few initiatives to raise awareness about the importance of casting your vote. Today as a proud Indian I am able to do that. I am really really happy…I appeal all the voters to vote as it is important for the future of the country," Tendulkar said to the media after voting in the fifth phase.

Meanwhile, another legend Sunil Gavaskar - a resident in South Mumba - also went for the voting. "They (people) should make the effort unless someone is severely unwell. But I believe they should make the effort to cast their vote because it is their government, and their vote holds significance," Gavaskar said after casting his vote.

Other cricket personalities including Suryakumar Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane and Akash Chopra also went for the voting. Former Indian cricketer and West Bengal sports minister Manoj Tiwary also went to cast his vote.

"Let’s shape the future of our nation by casting our vote today," Suryakumar wrote in a picture he shared on social media. "We did our duty. Have you?" Rahane wrote in a caption to a picture he shared with his wife.

"The Vote is precious, it is the most powerful non-violent tool we have in a democratic society, and we must use it. I have used it early in the morning and would request u all to do so," Tiwary wrote with his picture.

The fifth phase of polling has a total of 49 seats across six States and Union Territories. The fifth phase of polling took place in Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir (UT), Jharkhand, Ladakh (UT), Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. There are two more phases after this one - on 25th May and June 1. The tallying and the result announcement will take place on June 4.


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Other Section