1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Bangladesh recall Mahmudullah for Tests against South Africa

Bangladesh recall Mahmudullah for Tests against South Africa

Star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been granted a break from the first Test match against South Africa, starting on September 28.

Edited by: India TV Sports Desk, New Delhi [ Updated: September 11, 2017 19:15 IST ]
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES A file image of Mahmudullah Riyad in action

After an inspiring performance against Australia in the recently concluded two Test series, Bangladesh have made a few changes to their squad against South Africa. The Bangla Tigers have recalled batsman Mahmudullah in their Test squad to strengthen their batting unit for the upcoming two-match series against South Africa, starting on September 28. Meanwhile, pacers - Subhasis Roy and Rubel Hossain have also been included in the 15-member squad in a bid to add some more variety to their pace attack.

World's number one all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been granted a break from South Africa Tests, while, Nasir Hossain, who underperformed in his comeback series against Australia, were excluded.

Akram Khan, the BCB's cricket operations chairman, said that although Shakib would be allowed to take rest during Bangladesh's tour of South Africa, he has the option of playing the second Test.

"Shakib wrote a letter to us asking for a six-month break. He can miss the first Test against South Africa but if he wants, he can play the second Test. He will not be travelling with the team but he can tell us what he decides to do," ESPNcricinfo quoted Akram as saying.

Akram confirmed that the Bangladesh all-rounder had made the request in a bid to prolong his international career.

"We can't always be thinking about us. We should also keep his fatigue into consideration,' he said.

Shakib has been Bangladesh's most consistent performer in the last 10 years, having played 51 Tests so far while missing just seven since becoming a regular member of the side. However, he has made himself available for the limited-overs series.

It will be the first time that a Bangladesh player will voluntarily miss a Test.

Bangladesh squad:


Mushfiqur Rahim (C), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Subashis Roy, Mominul Haque.

(With Agency Inputs)

Promoted Content

Write a comment


Live Scorecard