Sunday, March 03, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Mizoram
  4. Mizoram election results: ZPM crosses majority mark, Deputy CM Tawnluia loses

Mizoram election results: ZPM crosses majority mark, Deputy CM Tawnluia loses

Counting of votes is underway in Mizoram. ZPM has surged past the ruling MNF and is leading in over 21 seats, which is the majority mark in the state.

Ashesh Mallick Edited By: Ashesh Mallick @asheshmallick07 Aizawl Updated on: December 04, 2023 14:54 IST
Mizoram Assembly elections 2023, Election Results, Lalduhoma
Image Source : X/LALDUHOMA ZPM's CM candidate Lalduhoma

The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) won 27 seats in the Mizoram Assembly elections as the counting began on Monday, according to the Election Commission data. The Mizo National Front (MNF) won 7 seats and is leading in 3 others, BJP won two seats and Congress is leading in 1. Mizoram has 40 Assembly seats and the majority mark is 21 in the state.

Deputy CM loses

Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia lost to ZPM’s W Chhuanawma in the Tuichang seat by a margin of 909 votes.

Chief Minister Zoramthanga lost in the Aizawl East-1 seat to ZPM's Lalthansanga.

Health Minister trails

State Health Minister R Lalthangliana lost in the South Tuipui seat to ZPM candidate Jeje Lalpekhlua by 135 votes. ZPM's CM candidate Lalduhoma won in the Serchhip seat against MNF's J Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng.

Counting of votes

The counting was being held in 13 centres.

Postal ballots were counted first, and from 8.30 am, the counting for votes polled in the EVMs began.

In some of the seats that have a lesser number of voters, only two rounds of counting will be held, but in most of the constituencies, five rounds will be counted.

More than 4,000 personnel are involved in the counting process. In all, there are 399 tables for the EVMs and 56 for the counting of postal ballots. Polling was held on November 7, and over 80 per cent of the state's 8.57 lakh voters exercised their franchise. A total of 174 candidates, including 18 women, were in the fray.

The MNF, ZPM and Congress contested 40 seats each, while the BJP fielded candidates in 23 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which contested the assembly polls here for the first time, fought in four seats. Also, there were 17 Independent candidates.

(With PTI inputs)


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Mizoram