Facebook has tried to replicate features from the messaging platform Snapchat in the past and looks like the social media giant is at it again. New leaked screenshots by the tech website Mashable hints at a new feature for group messaging that lets groups of friends privately share photos and other updates, which disappears after 24 hours.
The feature is named "Quick Updates", which was first noticed by Tiffany Zhong, an analyst at venture capital firm Binary Capital, a tech venture. Other users have reported seeing the test as well.
Quick updates can be seen in the main Facebook app behind the new smiley face icon in the top right corner of the app.
Here’s how Facebook Quick Updates works:
- You first need to update Facebook. In the front, you will see a Smiley icon on the top right of the app.
- Click on the smiley icon and you’ll get a small tutorial teaching you how you can share old media, shoot something new, or add text to a Quick Update.
- Quick Updates can be old content you’ve uploaded.
- You can also overlay text on media, similar to Snapchat and Facebook previous social app experiment Slingshot.
- You will also find a privacy tool that lets you select exactly who can see your Quick Updates.
- If someone sends a reply, you’ll be able to view it in the Activity tab.
It should be noted that the social media giant has a separate app for Groups that allows privately sharing content with groups using Moments.
Recent reports by Snapchat suggest that it has over 100 million daily users who spend an average of 25 to 30 minutes on the app each day.