Wednesday, July 24, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Tamil Nadu
  4. Tamil Nadu Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check complete list, profile of contestants

Tamil Nadu Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check complete list, profile of contestants

Tamil Nadu Key Candidates Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Tamil Nadu went to polls in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections on April 19 (Friday). The counting of votes for all 39 seats of Tamil Nadu will take place on June 4 (Tuesday) at 8 am.

Edited By: Sheenu Sharma @20sheenu Chennai Published on: June 03, 2024 21:29 IST
Tamil Nadu Key Candidates Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Lok Sabha Elections, k annamalai, kanimozhi, kar
Image Source : INDIA TV Tamil Nadu Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Key Candidates:  The Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections 2024 witnessed a range of candidates vying for parliamentary seats across the state. These elections played a crucial role in determining the representatives who will voice the concerns and aspirations of Tamil Nadu’s citizens in the national arena. Several key candidates are in the fray across 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections. 
Tamil Nadu went to polls in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections on April 19 (Friday). All seats that voted in the first phase included Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Thiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Vellore, Tiruvannamalai, Dharmapuri, Krishnagiri, Sriperumbudur, Viluppuram, Coimbatore, Nilgiris, Erode, Tiruppur, Namakkal, Salem, Arani, Kallakurichi, Kanyakumari, Thoothukkudi, Virudhunagar, Tenkasi, Ramanathapuram, Theni, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Tirunelveli, Pollachi, Karur, Dindigul, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Tiruchirappalli, Chidambaram, Nagapattinam and Mayiladuthurai.
The counting of votes for all 39 seats of Tamil Nadu will take place on June 4 (Tuesday) at 8 am.

With a diverse political landscape, various parties such as DMK, AIADMK, BJP, PMK, and NTK are fielding candidates on different seats. Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu will feature a three-way race between the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), and the INDIA bloc, which includes the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Congress, and other political parties.
Kanimozhi, sitting MP for the DMK, is once more contesting from Thoothukudi in southern Tamil Nadu.  The BJP's nominee from the Nilgiris, Union Minister of State L Murugan, is running against A Raja of the DMK, a former Union minister of telecom J Jayavardhan, R Manohar and others are among the key candidates of the AIADMK.
Here are some key contestants from Tamil Nadu- 

1. K Annamalai (BJP) 

One of the important contender in the Lok Sabha polls of Tamil Nadu is K Annamalai, the president of BJP in the state of Tamil Nadu. He is fighting from Coimbatore against Ganapathy, a former city mayor and member of the DMK. Annamalai, who is aggressively steering the party in Tamil Nadu, aims to make the goal come true in the state.

2. Kanimozhi (DMK)

DMK’s sitting MP Kanimozhi is again fighting from Thoothukudi in southern Tamil Nadu. The BJP has fielded Nainar Nagendran against her. R Sivasamy Velumani of AIADMK will fight against Kanimozhi from Thoothukkudi seat. She had defeated BJP’s Tamilisai Soundararajan from the constituency by a margin of margin of around 3, 47,200 votes in the Lok Sabha polls 2019.

3. Tamilisai Soundararajan (BJP)

Former Telangana governor Tamilisai Soundarajan is in the fray on a BJP ticket from the prestigious South Chennai constituency. She will be squaring off with DMK’s sitting MP Tamizhachi Thangapandian and AIADMK’s J Jayavardhan from the constituency.

4. L Murugan (BJP)

Union Minister of State (MoS) L Murugan is BJP’s candidate from Nilgiris against DMK’s A Raja, a former Union telecom minister. Raja had won the seat in 2019, defeating AIADMK candidate M Thiyagarajan by more than 2,00,000 votes. Lokesh Tamilselvan from the AIADMK and NTK leader A Jayakumar are also contesting from the seat.

5. TTV Dhinakaran (AMMK)

TTV Dhinakaran of the AMMK is fighting from Theni, which will see a triangular contest. Thanga Tamil Selvan of the DMK and AIADMK’s VT Narayanasamy are also testing their fortunes from the seat. Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam is part of the BJP-led NDA in the state and has been allotted two seats by the saffron party for the coming elections.

6. O Panneerselvam

Former chief minister and ousted AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam popularly known as OPS is all set to contest from Ramanathapuram Lok Sabha constituency. A sitting MLA from the Bodinayakkanur assembly constituency in Theni district, OPS will be fighting his first parliament election. O Panneerselvam is making his Lok Sabha debut from Ramanathapuram.

7. Dayanidhi Maran (DMK) 

DMK MP Dayanidhi Maran is contesting from Chennai Central, a stronghold of the party. The BJP has given a ticket to Vinoj P Selvam from the seat. Dayanidhi won in 2009, defeating Mogamed Ali Jinnah SMK of the AIADMK by a margin of over 33,00 votes. However, in 2014, he lost to SR Vijayakumar of the AIADMK by over 45,000 votes. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Dayanidhi Maran once again contested from the Chennai Central constituency, winning for the third time.

8. Karti Chidambaram (Congress) 

Congress has nominated sitting MP Karti P Chidambaram from Sivaganga. He will be facing BJP’s T Devanathan Yadav and the AIADMK’s Xavier Dass. Karti Chidambaram’s father and senior Congress leader P Chidambaram has won the Sivaganga Lok Sabha Constituency seven times since 1984.

9. TR Paarivendhar (BJP)

Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi (IJK) chief and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP TR Paarivendhar will contest from Perambalur against DMK’s KN Arun Nehru and ND Chandra Mohan of the AIADMK. Paarivendhar is a sitting MP and represents Perambalur in the Lok Sabha. TR Paarivendhar filed his nomination papers on March 25, as the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from the Perambalur Lok Sabha constituency.

10. Pon Radhakrishnan (BJP)

Former Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan has again got a BJP ticket from Kanniyakumari. He has been contesting from the constituency since 2009, winning it in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. The Congress has fielded sitting MP Vijay Vasanth against him.
Other candidates who are also in fray- 
  • Kalanidhi Veeraswamy (DMK) from Chennai North
  • Raama Sreenivasan (BJP) from Madurai
  • G Selvam (DMK) from Kancheepuram
  • AC Shanmugam (BJP) from Vellore
  • K Gopinath (Congress) from Krishnagiri
  • R Asokan (AIADMK) from Dharmapuri
  • TM Selvaganapathi (DMK) from Salem
  • KP Ramalingam (BJP) from Namakkal
  • M Thilagabama (PMK) from Dindigul
  • KRL Thangavel (AIADMK) from Karur
  • P KARUPPAIAH (AIADMK) from Tiruchirappalli 
  • TR Paarivendhar (BJP) from Perambalur
  • V Selvaraj (CPI) from Nagapattinam
  • Murasoli (DMK) from Thanjavur
  • Vijay Vasanth (Congress ) Kanniyakumari
  • Thanga Tamil Selvan (DMK) from Theni
  • M Jansi Rani (AIADMK) from Tirunelveli
  • Raama Sreenivasan (BJP) from Madurai
  • K Krishnasamy (AIADMK) from Tenkasi

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Tamil Nadu