Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Profile

Ipl 260x260 image

The Indian Premier League (IPL), officially called the Vivo Indian Premier League, is a glitzy and glamorous professional Twenty20 Cricket league in India which started in 2008. There are eight teams representing eight different Indian cities, namely Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and was a brainchild of Lalit Modi. The league, in its 10 years of existence, developed into the world's biggest and the richest T20 league. IPL also has an exclusive window in International Cricket Council's Future Tours Programme. The format of the league is divided into two halves - Round Robin and Qualifiers. Each of the eight teams will play each other twice in a home and away round robin format in the league phase. After the end of the league phase, the top two teams from the league phase will play against each other in 1st Qualifier for a place in the final. However, the team which loses in the 1st Qualifier will get another chance for the IPL by playing the second qualifying match (Winner of the Eliminator match between third and fourth place teams). The winner of the second qualifier will play the final match against the winner of the first qualifier.

read more



Chennai Super Kings clinch fourth title - A look at illustrious IPL journey of Dhoni's men- In Pics

Sports | Oct 16, 2021, 01:11 AM IST

Chennai Super Kings on Friday clinched their fourth Indian Premier League title after beating Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the summit clash on Friday.

Lasith Malinga produced an incredible last over to defend

IPL 2019 Final: Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 1-run to clinch 4th IPL title

Sports | May 13, 2019, 12:11 AM IST

Mumbai Indians claimed undisputed supremacy in the IPL by securing their fourth title with a narrow one-run win over Chennai Super Kings in a pulsating final on Sunday.

IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Match 52: Delhi Daredevils beat Chennai Super Kings

Sports | May 19, 2018, 12:17 AM IST

In a dead rubber, Delhi Daredevils prevailed victorious over second-placed Chennai Super Kings as the bowlers did a brilliant job to restrict the batsmen, defeating them by 34 runs at Kotla.


IPL 2018, Match 51: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sports | May 18, 2018, 04:25 PM IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore have been running riot after making an impressive comeback in the IPL as AB de Villiers and Moeen Ali gave RCB a win against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Bengaluru.

Mumbai Indians produced a brilliant bowling and fielding

IPL 2018, Match 41: Mumbai Indians beat Kolkata Knight Riders

Sports | May 10, 2018, 04:27 PM IST

Defending champions MI scored an imposing 210 for 6, riding on 19-year-old Kishan's 21-ball 62, studded with five fours and six sixes, and then bowled KKR out for 108 in 18.1 overs.

Table toppers Sunrisers Hyderabad produced yet another

IPL 2018, Match 39: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore

Sports | May 08, 2018, 12:21 AM IST

Sent into bat, Sunrisers managed a modest 146 but came back strongly after the break riding on yet another gutsy bowling display to restrict RCB to 141 for six.

IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Match 32: Delhi Daredevils beat Rajasthan Royals

Sports | May 03, 2018, 01:06 AM IST

In a thriller of a contest, Delhi Daredevils came out victorious as they defeated Rajasthan Royals by 4 runs at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Match 31: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Mumbai Indians

Sports | May 02, 2018, 12:16 AM IST

With this win, RCB have now moved to the fifth place in the table with six points while Mumbai are now seventh with just four points from eight matches.

IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Match 26: Delhi Daredevils beat Kolkata Knight Riders

Sports | Apr 28, 2018, 01:58 PM IST

Inspired by half-centuries from new skipper Iyer and Shaw, DD finally ended their three-match losing streak with a 55-run thumping win over KKR.

Captain MS Dhoni scored an unbeaten 70-run knock, while

IPL 2018, Match 24: Chennai Super Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore

Sports | Apr 26, 2018, 12:39 AM IST

Mahendra Singh Dhoni once again showed his prowess was not on the wane as he blazed his way to a 34-ball 70 and powered Chennai Super Kings to a five-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League

IPL 2018 DD vs KXIp

IPL 2018, Match 22: Kings XI Punjab beat Delhi Daredevils

Sports | Apr 24, 2018, 12:28 AM IST

Shreyas Iyer tried his bit with 57 off 45 balls, but that was not enough, as the trio of Ankit Rajpoot, Andrew Tye and Mujeeb ur Rahman picked up two wickets apiece to derail Delhi Daredevils' chase.

IPL 2018 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

IPL 2018, Match 13: Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Daredevils

Sports | Apr 16, 2018, 11:57 PM IST

Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav claimed three wickets each as Kolkata Knight Riders thrashed Delhi Daredevils by 71 runs at Eden Gardens on Monday.

IPL 2018

IPL 2018, Match 10: Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Kolkata Knight Riders

Sports | Apr 15, 2018, 12:59 AM IST

Skipper Kane Williamson scored a brilliant half-century to lead Sunrisers Hyderabad to an easy 5-wicket win against Kolkata Knight Riders in the 11th edition of IPL at Eden Gardens.

Virat Kohli wife Anushka Sharma celebrated the Royal

Anushka Sharma blows a kiss to hubby Virat Kohli during an Indian Premier League match in Bengaluru

Entertainment | Apr 14, 2018, 02:49 PM IST

Bollywood actress Anushka Sharma flew to Bengaluru to cheer for husband Virat Kohli and the Royal Challengers Bangalore team during an IPL match yesterday.

Shilpa Shetty Birthday

9 lesser known facts about birthday girl Shilpa Shetty Kundra

Entertainment | Jun 08, 2017, 11:57 AM IST

We wish this gorgeous diva a very Happy Birthday!

IPL has not only helped hundreds of cricketers establish

13 facts about IPL that will surely leave you surprised

Sports | Apr 30, 2016, 10:14 PM IST

IPL has not only helped hundreds of cricketers establish themselves as T20 players but has also been surrounded by some exceptional facts and incidents, some of which are actually jaw-dropping. Lets take a look at some of them.

IPL 2016

IPL 2016: Top 5 leading run scorers so far

Sports | May 25, 2016, 04:28 PM IST

Four of the top five run scorers are the captains of their respective teams. Here is a list of the top five batsmen of IPL 9 till date.

In the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League, two

IPL Season 9 skippers at a glance

Sports | Apr 08, 2016, 02:20 PM IST

Captains who are going to lead their teams in IPL 2016