Live TV

Tripura Cabinet swearing-in ceremony: Biplab Deb takes oath as chief minister; PM Modi says this is a historic day

Outgoing chief minister Manik Sarkar and elected leaders of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) also attended the event.
India TV News Desk
Edited by: India TV News Desk Agartala March 09, 2018 15:22 IST

Biplab Kumar Deb took oath as the Tripura chief minister on Friday at the Assam Rifles ground in Tripura's Agartala. PM Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states in the northeastern region attended the ceremony.

In order to protest "large-scale violence" in Tripura after the Assembly elections, the Left Front leaders boycotted the swearing-in of the BJP-led government. 

Outgoing chief minister Manik Sarkar and elected leaders of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) also attended the event. 


01:07 pm: This government is for all; whether they voted for us or not, says PM Modi

01:04 pm: I have visited North East more than any prime minister has in the past, says PM Modi

01:02 pm: PM Modi addresses gathering, says we are lightening the lamps of progress and prosperity.

01:01 pm: People have to be congratulated for peaceful polls, says PM Modi.

12:50 pm: There are many opportunities in northeast, says PM Modi

12:43 pm: Amit Shah addresses gathering in Agartala.

12:49 pm: I am confident that Biplab Kumar Deb and his team will continue to fulfill the aspirations of the people of the state. I again thank everyone for having faith in BJP: Amit Shah 

12:48 pm: PM Modi has taken a lot of steps for the peace and progress of the Northeast: Amit Shah 

12:47 pm: PM Narendra Modi has laid special focus on the development of Northeast after he took over as the prime minister of the country: Amit Shah 

12:46 pm: In the past years, the budget used to decide much for the Northeast however, there was no development in the region: Amit Shah

12:45 pm: I assure you that we will take your hopes, aspirations and faith in us forward, we have been waiting for this opportunity since long: Amit Shah

12:44 pm: I would like to thank the people of Tripura on behalf of the complete BJP family: Amit Shah

12:41 pm: BJP president Amit Shah has made BJP what it is today: Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb

12:40 pm: Chief Minister of Tripura Biplab Kumar Deb addressed gathering in Tripura.

12:35 pm: "Congratulations to Chief Minister of Tripura Biplab Deb (@BjpBiplab) and his entire council of ministers for forming the first BJP government in Tripura," tweets Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

12:30 pm: Jishnu Debbarma takes oath as Tripura deputy chief minister.

12:10 pm: Biplab Kumar Deb takes oath as the Tripura chief minister.

 12:01 pm: Jishnu Dev Burman takes oath as the deputy chief minister of Tripura.

12:01 pm: On Tuesday, Chief Minister-designate Biplab Deb announced that the party's tribal leader Jishnu Debbarma will be the deputy chief minister.

11:30 pm: The BJP-Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) combine swept to power in the state last week, ending 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front.

11:25 pm: The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, ousting the CPI(M) which won only in 17 Assembly constituencies.

WATCH VIDEO: Biplab Deb takes oath as the next Chief Minister of Tripura

More from election