1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Congress all set for simple majority in Arunachal Pradesh

Congress all set for simple majority in Arunachal Pradesh

ITANAGAR: Ruling Congress in Arunachal Pradesh is all set for a simple majority with the party winning 30 of the total 60 assembly seats, including 11 which it won uncontested and leading in 9 constituencies.The

PTI PTI Updated on: May 17, 2014 0:00 IST

RWD Minister K Kumar Waii won from Bameng constituency defeating his nearest rival Vijay Sonam of BJP by 1859 votes while, sitting Congress MLA Karya Bagang won from Chayantajo seat defeating her nearest rival L K Tangfo of BJP by 415 votes.

Former chief minister Gegong Apang of BJP lost to Alo Libang of Congress in Tuting-Yingkiong seats by 364 votes.

Opposition BJP won three seats with party nominee Laisam Simai winning from Nampong constituency by defeating Agriculture Minister Setong Sena by a margin of 203 votes.

First-timer Kento Rina had won from Nari Koyu constituency defeating sitting Congress MLA and former Home Minister Tako Dabi by a margin of 389 votes.

Latest India News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from India