1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. IPL 2017: Five Indian players to...

IPL 2017: Five Indian players to watch out for in 10th season of T-20 league

India TV Sports Desk New Delhi April 04, 2017 21:09 IST
India TV Sports Desk

The tenth season of the Indian Premier League -- IPL 2017 -- kicks off from tomorrow. 

The ‘cricket festival’ will witness eight teams in action and the league will last for almost two months with 60 matches to be played. 

Cricket fans are anxiously waiting for the action to start on the ground. 

Meanwhile, here’s a list of five Indian players to watch out in the forthcoming IPL 2017: 

Virat Kohli

Team India’s star batsman and Royal Challenger Bangalore’s captain has Struggled in the recent test series against Australia, but that does not undermine the calibre of the swashbuckling batsman.

There are speculations that the player Kohli may miss this season of the IPL as he undergoes rehabilitation for an injured shoulder. 

Any decision on his joining the IPL will only be known after the assessment of his actual health status in the second week of April.

Kohli has played 139 IPL matches in which he has scored 4110 runs with an average of 38.05, including 4 centuries and 26 half centuries.

The 28-years-old batsman skipped the last Test in the just-concluded four-match series against Australia after sustaining an injury during the Ranchi Test. 

MS Dhoni

Former Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been seen leading a team ever since the inception of the Indian Premiere League (IPL), until now. 

The 10th edition of the cash rich T-20 league will be the first instance where Dhoni will be seen in a T-20 game as just a player and not captain. 

While the fans are as much in shock over Steve Smith replacing MSD as the Pune Super Giants captain, his national team-mate Bhuvneshwar Kumar says he is still adjusting to the fact that Dhoni will not be seen as a captain in the IPL this year. 

Dhoni has played 143 matches in which he has scored 3271 runs with an average of 39.40, including 16 half-centuries.

Rohit Sharma 

Captain of the Mumbai Indians team, Rohit Sharma has already led his team to IPL victory in 2013 and 2015. 

Rohit has played 142 IPL matches in which he has made 3874 runs with an average of 33.68, including a century and 29 half centuries.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar is one of the most successful bowlers in the IPL with 85 wickets in 76 matches. 

Playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2016 IPL, he bagged 23 wickets in 17 matches and was the most successful bowler of the season.

Ravindra Jadeja

Contributing with both the bat and the ball, Ravindra Jadeja’s performance played a key role in recently concluded test series between India and Australia. Jadeja, who bagged the ‘Man of the Series’ was crucial in the series win and was the highest wicket taker with 25 wickets.

Jadeja left Ravichandran Ashwin behind to bag the top slot in the ICC's Test bowler rankings.

‘Sir Jadeja’ has played 126 matches in which he has scored 1574 runs with an average of 23.14 and has bagged 77 wickets so far in IPL.