Assembly Election 2021: EC announces poll dates for Bengal, TN, Kerala, Assam, Puducherry

The Election Commission of India on Friday announced the schedule for Assembly elections in four states West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Voting for five assembly elections will begin on March 27 and counting of votes will be done on May 2. Voting in West Bengal will be held in eight phases starting March 27. The Model Code of Conduct has come into immediate effect with the announcement of polls in these states. All poll officials will be vaccinated against COVID-19 before elections for five assemblies, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said. The West Bengal assembly has 294 seats, Tamil Nadu 234 seats, Kerala 140 seats, and Assam 126 seats. The Union Territory of Puducherry has 33 (3 nominated) seats in the assembly.

Latest Videos