Thursday, July 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Telangana
  4. Telangana Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check complete list, profile of contestants

Telangana Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check complete list, profile of contestants

Telangana Lok Sabha Elections 2024: According to the Election Commission of India's data, voting for all 17 seats in Telangana concluded in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha polls. Telangana also witnessed a high voter turnout of around 65.67 per cent.

Edited By: Sheenu Sharma @20sheenu Hyderabad Published on: June 03, 2024 21:42 IST
Telangana Key Candidates, Lok Sabha Elections 2024, Telangana Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections
Image Source : INDIA TV Telangana Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Telangana Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Several key candidates were in the fray across 17 constituencies of Telangana in the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2024. Three seats are reserved for scheduled castes (SCs) and two seats are reserved for scheduled tribes (STs). The elections took place in a single phase on May 13 (Monday). The Lok Sabha Elections in Telangana are witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling Congress, the opposition K Chandrasekhar Rao-led Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS), and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The counting of votes would be taken up on June 4.
According to the Election Commission of India's data, voting for all 17 seats in Telangana concluded in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha polls. Telangana also witnessed a high voter turnout of around 65.67 per cent. 
State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Vikas Raj said a total of 2.20 crore voters out of the 3.32 crore electors participated in polls, which is 66.3 per cent of the total electorate. While 2.18 crore voters cast their ballots at 35,809 polling stations, 2,10,771 people exercised their franchise in Voter Facilitation Centres, postal voting centres and through home-voting. The 65.67 per cent votes polled at polling booths is almost three per cent more than that recorded in the 2019 general elections. The highest voter turnout of 76.78 per cent was registered in the Bhongir Lok Sabha constituency, while the lowest polling percentage of 48.48 per cent was in the Hyderabad seat.
As many as 625 candidates, including Union Minister and Telangana BJP president G Kishan Reddy, the party’s national general secretary Bandi Sanjay Kumar were among the saffron party candidates, while the Congress fielded among others, BRS turncoats Danam Nagender and K Kavya.
Here's a look at some of the key candidates in Telangana for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls:

1. Asaduddin Owaisi (AIMIM) 

A bastion of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen candidate (AIMIM) since 1989, the Hyderabad seat is witnessing a fierce political battle between four-time sitting MP Asaduddin Owaisi and BJP's Madhavi Latha. Last time, Owaisi defeated the rival BJP candidate Bhagavanth Rao by over 2.8 lakh votes. AIMIM president Owaisi is seeking re-election from the Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency.

2. G Kishan Reddy (BJP)

Union Minister and BJP leader G Kishan Reddy is eyeing a second consecutive term from Secunderabad. He is pitted against Congress' Danam Nagender and T Padma Rao Goud of the BRS. In 2019, Kishan Reddy won this seat by more than 62,000 votes against BRS' TSK Yadav. G Kishan Reddy is a prominent candidate in Secunderabad and he faced a strong challenge from Danam Nagender.

3. Eatala Rajender (BJP)

The Malkajgiri constituency, which was won by CM Revanth Reddy in 2019, is seeing a major contest between state minister and BJP leader Etela Rajender, Congress' Patnam Suneetha Mahender Reddy and Ragidi Laxma Reddy of the BRS. Malkajgiri is one of the largest constituencies by electorate, it sees Etela Rajender (BJP) against Patnam Mahender Reddy.

4. Bandi Sanjay Kumar (BJP)

BJP national general secretary and state unit president of the saffron party, Bandi Sanjay Kumar, is aiming for his second consecutive win from the Karimnagar seat in the 2024 elections. He is fielded against BRS' B Vinod Kumar and Velichala Rajender Rao of the Congress.

5. BB Patil (BJP)

BB Patil, who secured a victory from the Zahirabad constituency in the last two general elections on a BRS ticket, switched to the BJP earlier this year and is representing the saffron party in the 2024 elections. The BRS has this time fielded Gali Anilkumar, while the Congress has nominated Suresh Kumar Shetkar from here.

6. Kompella Madhavi Latha (BJP)

Madhavi Latha, or Kompella Madhavi Latha, was the face of the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) campaign against triple talaq. The 49-year-old is the first female candidate to be fielded by the BJP in Hyderabad. Madhavi Latha's name was announced in the first list of the BJP's 195 candidates signifying that the party is serious about focusing on weak constituencies.

7. Arvind Dharmapuri (BJP)

Nizamabad constituency features a significant battle between BJP MP and candidate Dharmapuri Arvind and T Jeevan Reddy of Congress. It gained attention in the previous election cycle when it saw a large number of turmeric farmers contesting as independents.

8. Ramasahayam Raghuram Reddy (Congress) 

Ramasahayam Reddy is contesting from Khammam seat in Telangana. Born on December 19, 1961, in Hyderabad to Ramasahayam Surender Reddy and Jayamala, Ramasahayam Raghuram Reddy completed B.Com from Nizam College, Hyderabad and later pursued a PG Diploma in education. Originally hailing from Chegomma in Kusumanchi Mandal of Paleru constituency, his father Ramsahayam Surender Reddy was born and brought up in Khammam. Ramasahayam Surender Reddy has been among the Congress stalwarts. He was MLA for four times from Dornakal constituency. Later, he was elected MP from Warangal constituency four times in joint Warangal district.

Chevella: Konda Vishweshwar Reddy (BJP) is up against G. Ranjith Reddy (Congress), making this a highly competitive seat.

9. Ragidi Laxma Reddy (BRS)

Ragidi Laxma Reddy of Bharat Rashtra Samithi contested from Malkajgiri seat in Telangana. Former minister Etela Rajender’s candidature from the BJP further intensifies the electoral battle, promising a spirited contest in Malkajgiri. 

10. P Venkatrama Reddy (BRS) 

BRS candidate P Venkatrama Reddy contested polls on Medak seat of Telangana. 

Other candidates-

The former IPS officer RS Praveen Kumar and sitting MP Nama Nageswar Rao, among others, are in the poll fray from former Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao-led BRS. Congress leaders Danam Nagender and K Kavya also contested polls in 2024. Mahabubabad (ST) is a reserved constituency that features a contest between BRS, Congress, and BJP candidates, reflecting the broader battle for influence among Telangana's scheduled tribes.

Telangana recorded 62 per cent voter turnout in the 2019 Parliamentary elections.

The BRS (then TRS) won nine seats in the 2019 general elections-

  • BJP - four seat
  • Congress - three seat
  • AIMIM - one seat 

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Telangana