Thursday, July 11, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Tamil Nadu
  4. Tamil Nadu: DMDK announces 5 candidates, Vijayakanth's son Vijay Prabhakaran to contest from Virudhunagar

Tamil Nadu: DMDK announces 5 candidates, Vijayakanth's son Vijay Prabhakaran to contest from Virudhunagar

For the DMDK, which was founded by actor-politician 'Captain' Vijayakanth in 2005, this would be the first election the party is set to fight after his death on December 28 last year. His wife and DMDK general secretary Premalatha Vijayakanth described the AIADMK as a "natural ally."

Edited By: India TV News Desk Chennai Updated on: March 22, 2024 16:03 IST
Premalatha and late actor Vijayakanth
Image Source : X Premalatha and late actor Vijayakanth

The Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK), founded by Captain Vijayakanth, on Friday, announced the names of candidates on five Lok Sabha seats as a part of an alliance with the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) in Tamil Nadu. Vijayakanth's son Vijay Prabhakaran will contest from the Virudhunagar Lok Sabha seat.

The party has fielded B Parthasarathy from Chennai Central, K Nalla Thambi from Tiruvallur, P Sivakozhundu from Cuddalore and P Sivanesan from Thanjavur apart from Prabhakaran.

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu's main opposition party AIADMK on Wednesday finalised seat sharing arrangement with allies DMDK, SDPI and Puthiya Tamizhagam.

Announcing the electoral pacts at the party headquarters, AIADMK general secretary Edappadi K Palaniswami said the DMDK would contest from Tiruvallur (SC), Central Chennai, Cuddalore, Thanjavur and Virudhunagar Lok Sabha constituencies.

Puthiya Tamizhagam has (PT) been allocated Tenkasi constituency and SDPI the Dindigul segment, Palaniswami said.

The poll pacts were signed with DMDK general secretary Premalatha Vijayakanth, PT chief K Krishansamy and SDPI's state unit chief Nellai Mubarak.

On DMK making several assurances in its manifesto for the LS polls, Palaniswami asked if the ruling party has fulfilled promises made ahead of the 2019 Parliamentary election and the 2021 Assembly polls.

(With PTI inputs)


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Tamil Nadu