IND vs NZ 1st ODI: The umpiring standard have gone down extremely low as far as international cricket is concerned and Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya is the latest victim of it. The first One Day International that is being played between India and New Zealand witnessed something bizarre while Hardik Pandya was batting. India were jolted by back-to-back blows of Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav's dismissal and the onus was on Hardik Pandya and Shubman Gill to guide India to a big total
Hardik Pandya was adjudged out
The incident took place on the 4th ball of the 40th over. Hardik Pandya looked in full flow but that is when Daryl Mitchell brought him into the attack. With Tom Latham standing up to the stumps, Hardik Pandya waited in his crease and attempted a deft touch to the ball that was bowled marginally out of the off stump. In the first go, it felt as if Hardik Pandya had chopped the ball onto the stumps. Eventually, the third umpire was referred but interestingly after dozens of replays, the decision was not overturned.
Hardik Pandya was not out
The replay shows that Hardik hadn't nicked the ball and it went on to Latham's gloves who dislodged the bails. While dislodging the bails, Hardik Pandya was comfortably in his crease, hence this wasn't even a stumping too. Much to Hardik Pandya's dismay, he was adjudged out and hence this has created a new controversy around the cricketing circuit. Umpires have access to high-definition cameras and replays and when an error like this is committed, it is not acceptable. Dismissals like these can change the course of the game and they have to take ownership of it.