1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. T20 World Cup 2022: Marco Jansen replaces Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa World Cup squad

T20 World Cup 2022: Marco Jansen replaces Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa World Cup squad

T20 World Cup 2022: Marco Jansen has replaced injured Dwaine Pretorius in the South Africa squad after he suffered a fracture on his right hand

Aditya Pimpale Written By: Aditya Pimpale @AdityaPimpale6 New Delhi Updated on: October 15, 2022 14:05 IST
T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source : GETTY T20 World Cup 2022: Marco Jansen replaces Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa World Cup squad


  • Marco Jansen can provide cover to both batting and bowling
  • Dwaine Pretorius was injured in the India series
  • South Africa will face India and Pakistan in the group stage of the T20 World Cup 2022

South Africa have Marco Jansen as a replacement for injured Dwaine Pretorius who was ruled out of the T20 World Cup due to a fracture. Jansen who will now board the flight will be a like-to-like replacement and provides all the necessary elements to the arsenal. 

Pretorious, who has played an important role with both bat and ball for South Africa in recent years, will miss out on playing in the T20 World Cup after fracturing his left thumb during the recent T20 International series against India.  

ALSO READ I England Cricket Board announces central contracts, marquee players miss out on coveted list | READ

Marco Jansen has been announced as the replacement in the 15-player squad that will travel to Australia for the T20 World Cup who was initially named in the reserves.

Meanwhile, Lizaad Williams has been called up to replace Jansen amongst the travelling reserves.

Pretorius had an impressive run in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup, finishing as South Africa’s joint-highest wicket-taker (nine) with the best bowling average (11.22) of the lot. Despite having played only one T20I, Jansen has been entrusted with filling the void of taking the death-bowling duties left behind by Pretorius.

South Africa will play their opening contest of the T20 World Cup on 24 October against the winner of Qualifier B1 at Hobart. Before the tournament kicks off, they will play two warm-up games -- against New Zealand on 17 October and Bangladesh on 19 October, both at Brisbane.

The African team will now look forward to healthy competition in the tournament as they target a place in the latter stage. South Africa have never won the T20 World Cup despite the presence of star players in the past, but the Proteas will fancy their chances this time. The current crop of players will be expected to put behind their vows and hunt a first T20 World Cup title.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs. Standby Players: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo.


Latest Cricket News

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Sports and Cricket Section