Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports
  4. Cricket
  5. Asia Cup: BCCI declares Indian squad, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul back in team; Bumrah, Shami miss cut

Asia Cup: BCCI declares Indian squad, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul back in team; Bumrah, Shami miss cut

Here's everything you need to know about the Indian team for the upcoming Asia Cup.

Aachal Maniyar Written By: Aachal Maniyar New Delhi Updated on: August 19, 2022 12:10 IST
Asia Cup
Image Source : BCCI Team India huddle

BCCI has announced the Indian squad led by Rohit Sharma for the upcoming Asia Cup which will be held in UAE.

While KL Rahul is set to make a comeback after a recovering from injury, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have been ruled out.

The right-handed batsman Rahul was all set to lead India against South Africa in the five-match T20I home series but unfortunately missed out as he had problems with his groin after IPL 2022. He also missed the recently concluded India vs West Indies series due to COVID-19. However, he will be back in action as vice-captain.

On the other hand, Bumrah and Patel are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru, according to BCCI's tweet.

Virat Kohli who has been off-coloured for quite sometime, will want to bounce back.

When it comes to wicket-keepers, Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik have made it to the team.

Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys.

India full squad:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

The 15-member main squad and three standby players, exclude the names of two players Sanju Samson and Mohammed Shami. Samson has been making good use of his opportunities for some time now. On the other hand, Shami has been handling the reins of Indian fast bowling for the team. 

However, the legendary Ravichandran Ashwin has found a place in the team. At the same time, Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravi Bishnoi are also included in the form of two more spinners.

Asia Cup 2022 will take place from the 27th of August to the 11th of September.

Team India will take on Pakistan in the A Group opening match in Dubai on 28th August.

Also read: Here's entire schedule for Asia Cup, know date, time, venue and other details

Earlier, the Asia Cup was scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka. However, amidst the political unrest in the country, the Asia Cup was shifted from the island nation to UAE. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) had informed the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) that the board will not be in a position to host the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup.

Latest Cricket News