Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar has slammed fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah after the 24-year-old was again denied a wicket for bowling a no-ball in the ongoing fourth Test between India and England in Southampton.
On the first day of the Test match, Bumrah trapped Root in front of the stumps, but the umpire gave it not out. Bumrah was so convinced that he asked captain Virat Kohli to take the DRS, which he did. However, in the review, it was shown that his foot was over the line, which eventually dashed the visitors' hopes. But Root couldn't capitalize much of it and was dismissed cheaply on 4 runs by Ishant Sharma after a couple of overs.
Virat Kohli has got the potential to be greater than Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar: Farokh Engineer
Gavaskar feels Bumrah should learn from his mistakes as it was not the first time the pacer has picked up a wicket on an illegal delivery.
"This is something that he has to work really hard at for it's not just frustrating for him individually, but annoying for the team too as they feel they have got a wicket only to be denied because the bowler has overstepped. For a fast bowler, having to bowl an extra delivery is also tiring work," Gavaskar wrote in his column for the Times of India.
Bumrah and no-ball wickets have become quite a love story for the Indian team that everyone dislikes. In past also, no-balls have been a crucial problem in Bumrah's career. During the semifinals of 2016 ICC World T20, Bumrah took the wicket of Lendl Simmons on a no-ball and later the curse continued against arch-rivals Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy final in 2017.
Meanwhile, keeping the no-ball aside, Bumrah had a good day at work as he picked up 3 wickets for 46 runs in 20 overs.
Later, some cricket experts and fans took to Twitter to make fun of Bumrah's no-ball saga.
No ball is to bumrah what Netflix is to Radhika.— Pun of God (@Punofgod) August 30, 2018
Bumrah and NoBall wickets still a better love story than DDLJ and kuch kuch hota hai put together 😃#ENGvIND— sagar k (@imsagarr_k) August 30, 2018
On hindsight, Jennings should've reviewed that LBW knowing Bumrah's penchant for overstepping 😉 #ENGvIND— Rajesh (@RaMonJesh) August 30, 2018
Bumrah is a legend he overstepped so that Ishant Sharma can get Root as his 250th test wicket. Respect 🙏 #ENGvIND— Gajender Singh (@gajender00) August 30, 2018