1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. India vs Sri Lanka: Yuvraj Singh dropped for limited-overs series; Ashwin, Jadeja rested

India vs Sri Lanka: Yuvraj Singh dropped for limited-overs series; Ashwin, Jadeja rested

Yuvraj Singh has been dropped after a string of poor performances, which saw him scoring just 162 runs in his last 7 ODI innings.

Written by: India TV Sports Desk, New Delhi [ Updated: August 13, 2017 21:25 IST ]
Image Source : PTI A file image of Yuvraj Singh.

Following a string of low scores, Yuvraj Singh was on Sunday dropped from the India squad for the upcoming five-match one-day international series and one-off T20I against Sri Lanka, starting August 20. The 35-year-old Yuvraj managed only 162 runs in his last 7 ODI matches with just one fifty.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 15-member squad which will be led by Virat Kohli. The team had seven changes from the last time India played an ODI series against West Indies in June-July.

Opener Rohit Sharma has been included in the team after being rested for the series against West Indies. The Mumbai batsman has been named as the vice-captain of the squad.

alented Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey, who recently led the India A squad to a tri-series win in South Africa, made a comeback to the team along with Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel and KL Rahul. 

Four frontline bowlers, including pace duo of Mahammed Shami and Umesh Yadav, have been rested along with leading spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja

Young paceman Shardul Thakur also made a comeback to team. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested for the series against the West Indies, has also been included. 

The five-match ODI series will begin on August 20 at Dambulla. India's tour of Sri Lanka will conclude with the lone T20I in Colombo on September 6. 

India squad for five-match ODI series and one-off T20I against Sri Lanka:

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.

Write a comment

Live Scorecard