1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Highlights, 2nd T20I: Clinical India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to take 2-0 lead

Highlights, 2nd T20I: Clinical India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to take 2-0 lead

Chasing a modest target of 133, in-form Indian opener KL Rahul slammed unbeaten 57 runs off 50 balls to take India to comfortable 7-wicket win over New Zealand.

India TV Sports Desk India TV Sports Desk
New Delhi Updated on: January 26, 2020 15:49 IST
Highlights, 2nd T20I: Clinical India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to take 2-0 lead
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

Highlights, 2nd T20I: Clinical India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to take 2-0 lead

IND vs NZ: Hello and welcome to our coverage of India vs New Zealand live 2nd T20I match from Eden Park, Auckland. After a terrific six-wicket victory in the first T20I in Auckland, India will aim to continue their winning run when they take on New Zealand in the second game at the same venue. One can expect another high-scoring game at the Eden Park, and eyes will be on the bowlers among both the sides. Shreyas Iyer shined with the bat in the first T20I alongside KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, as the Mumbai batsman finished the game with a six in a quick-fire 58-run inning. India are unlikely to change a winning combination but a few changes in the bowling department won't come as a surprise when the visitors take on New Zealand in the second T20 at the high-scoring Eden Park here on Sunday. Jasprit Bumrah was the only bowler on either side to concede less than eight runs per over at the peculiar shaped ground with short boundaries in the series opener on Friday. STREAMING | SCORECARD

Highlights: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets

15.32 IST: Southee to Dube, SIX! Dube finishes off the match in style as India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to take 2-0 lead in five-match series.

15.26 IST: Sodhi to Iyer, OUT! Miss-hit and Southee takes an excellent running catch as Iyer misses his fifty.

15.24 IST: Sodhi to Iyer, SIX! Iyer looks majestic against spinners throughout the match and this shot over long-on is a proof of it.

15.20 IST: Tickner to Iyer, FOUR! Excellent timing as Iyer upper-cuts the ball for a boundary.

15.20 IST: Tickner to Iyer, SIX! Makes room for himself and powers the ball straight down the ground for a maximum.

15.15 IST: Bennett to Rahul, FOUR! Opens the full face of the ball and dispatch the ball in the air for once bounce boundary. Rahul reaches fifty with that shot.

15.14 IST: Bennett to Rahul, SIX! Rahul tried to glance it but gets the top edge and the ball crosses the boundary line.

15.01 IST: Sodhi to Iyer, SIX! BIGGIE! In the slot and Iyer dispatches it over mid-on for a maximum.

14.49 IST: Santner to Rahul, FOUR! Just nicks the ball towards the third-man boundary. Cheeky shot from Rahul and a much-needed boundary for India.

14.36 IST: Shreyas Iyer is the new man in.

14.34 IST: Southee to Kohli, OUT! BIG WICKET! Down the leg-side, Kohli simply intended to guide the ball towards the fine-leg boundary but doesn't find the connection. A great catch from Seifert.

14.30 IST: Tickner to Rahul, SIX! Short-pitched, Rahul bends and opens the face of the bat beautifully! Sails over the third-man boundary for a maximum.

14.29 IST: Tickner to Kohli, FOUR! Straight over the mid-off! That's an exquisite loft from the Indian captain.

14.25 IST: Bennett to Rahul, FOUR! Excellent timing from Rahul as just glances the ball with full control into the gap for a boundary.

14.13 IST: Southee to Rohit, OUT! A little bit of swing and Rohit edges the ball again and this time it lands into Taylor's hands at the first slip.

14.12 Southee to Rohit, FOUR! Good ball from Souther and Rohit edges the ball and it ran away through second slip for a boundary.

14.10 IST: Southee to Rohit, FOUR! Rohit pushes the ball through square leg for a boundary to open his and India's account.

* Indian openers are back for the chase

14.01 IST: Bumrah to Seifert, SINGLE! A low full-toss to end the innings as Seifert takes a quick single to take NZ to 132/5 in 20 overs.

13.58 IST: Bumrah to Seifert, SIX! MARVELLOUS SHOT! Over extra cover for a maximum.

13.57 IST: Bumrah to Taylor, OUT! Taylor tries to clear the boundary but the slower ball plays the game here and was caught by Rohit Sharma.

13.53 IST: Shami to Seifert, DOT BALL! Only five runs from it, Excellent over Shami as he was spot on with his line and length throughout the over.

13.36 IST: Chahal to Seifert, SIX What a Shot! Seifert launches the ball straight down the ground for a maximum.

13.35 IST: Chahal to Seifert, FOUR! Seifert pushes the ball through extra covers for a boundary.

13.20 IST: Jadeja to Williamson, OUT! Tight overs caused this as Williamson tries to play a big shot and the ball lands into Chahal's hands.

13.13 IST: Jadeja to Colin, OUT! Caught and Ball, Colin tries to push the ball on mid-on but gets a thick edge and Jadeja picks an easy catch.

13.02 IST: Dube to Munro, OUT! Mistimed and caught inside the circle and Kohli takes his second catch of the match.

12.56 IST: Dube to Munro, SIX! On the pads and Munro laps it on the fine leg for a big six.

12.51 IST: Thakur to Guptill, OUT! In the air and caught! Guptill tries to loft the ball and didn't time it well and it lands into Kohli's safe hands.

12.49 IST: Thakur to Guptill, FOUR! Back to Back boundaries from Guptill as Thakur is not learning from his mistakes and constantly bowling in batsman's radar.

12.43 IST: Chahal to Munro, FOUR! Welcome to the attack Chahal! Munro sweeps the ball in the gap to put the pressure on Chahal straightaway with a boundary.

12.39 IST: Shami to Guptill, FOUR! Short ball and Guptill punishes it hard over mid-wicket for a boundary.

12.31 IST: Shami to Guptill, FOUR! Slashed away hard for a boundary as Guptill is looking in good touch.

12.24 IST: Shardul to Guptill, SIX! Back to Back sixes, this time over fine-leg as Guptill powers the ball for a maximum.

12.23 IST: Shardul to Guptill, SIX! Over extra covers for a maximum and NZ start the innings on a high.

12.21 IST: Shardul to bowl the first over for India

12.21 IST: Guptill and Munro will open the innings for Blackcaps

12.15 IST: Both teams are out for the national anthem. 

11.54 IST: Playing XIs

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul(w), Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert(w), Mitchell Santner, Blair Tickner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennett

11:51 IST: TOSS UPDATE! New Zealand have won the toss, opt to bat.

Brief Preview: It remains to be seen whether India stick to three specialist pacers and two spinners combination or bring in an extra tweaker in Kuldeep Yadav to partner Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravindra Jadeja. Washington Sundar is the the other spin option India have. If India do play an extra tweaker, all-rounder Shivam Dube will be third fast bowling option.​ [FULL PREVIEW]

Write a comment