India Vs Australia 2018 2019
  1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi | IPL 2018 Venues

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi | IPL 2018 Venues

Know more about Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, History, ODI, T20I, Test Cricket, IPL Match Records, Upcoming Event an Pitch Report at IndiaTV Sports.

Reported by: India TV Sports Desk, New Delhi [ Published on: April 01, 2018 13:01 IST ]
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES

A general view of the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, New Delhi.

Established in 1883, the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium is the second oldest cricket ground in India after Kolkata's Eden Gardens. The stadium in located in the compound of a fortress "Feroz Shah Kotla" built by Sultan Feroz Shah Tughlaq. The stadium as a capacity of 48,000 and hosted its first Test match in 1948 - between India and the West Indies. Over the years, the Feroz Shah Kotla developed into a happy hunting ground for the Indian cricket team and the venue has witnessed few of the greatest feats achieved by Indian cricketers with Anil Kumble's famous 10/74 in an innings against Pakistan being one of them. The pitch at the Kotla is considered to be batting friendly. The stadium is home to Indian Premier League franchise Delhi Daredevils and Delhi Ranji team. 

Feroz Shah Kotla Facts:

Opened: 1883
Capacity: 48,000
Floodlights: Yes
End names: Stadium End, Pavilion End

Write a comment

Live Scorecard