1. You Are At:
  2. Home
  3. Sports News
  4. Cricket News
  5. Raina, Parthiv, Vijay included in Duleep Trophy squads; Yuvraj Singh left out

Raina, Parthiv, Vijay included in Duleep Trophy squads; Yuvraj Singh left out

Duleep Trophy was reinstated on the BCCI calendar following Sourav Ganguly's intervention, the tournament will have two matches in Kanpur and two in Lucknow.

Edited by: India TV Sports Desk, New Delhi [ Updated: August 30, 2017 23:45 IST ]
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES A file image of Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina has been named the captain of the India Blue team for the Duleep Trophy, which will be held in Kanpur and Lucknow from September 7 to 29, providing him with a platform to make a return to the Indian team. Raina, who has not played an ODI since October 2015, was ignored for the ongoing limited overs series against Sri Lanka. 

The southpaw will get at least two four-day games to make an impact. However, it is unlikely that he will be picked for the upcoming limited overs series against Australia beginning September 17, considering he will be part of the Duleep Trophy. 

Unfortunately, Yuvraj Singh has not been named in the list of 45 cricketers who will play with the pink ball and under floodlights. Earlier, both Yuvraj and Raina failed to clear the 'Yo-Yo' endurance test at the National Cricket Academy which resulted in their ouster from Team India's squad for the Sri Lanka limited-overs series.

Another prominent name that will feature in the domestic event is Murali Vijay, who has been trying to recover from the wrist injury he suffered during the Australia Test series earlier this year. 

Vijay, who was also ruled out of the Sri Lanka Tests, will turn up for India Green, which will be captained by Parthiv Patel. 

Abhinav Mukund, who played the Galle Test against Sri Lanka, will lead India Red. 

Duleep Trophy, which was reinstated on the BCCI calendar yesterday following Sourav Ganguly's intervention, will have two matches in Kanpur and two in Lucknow. 

The five-day event will be played in the Uttar Pradesh capital from September 25 to 29. 


India Red: Abhinav Mukund (C), Priyank Panchal, Sudip Chatterjee, Ishank Jaggi, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Baba Indrajith, K Gowtham, Karna Sharma, Basil Thampi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ashok Dinda, Rahul Singh, CV Milind. 

India Green: Murali Vijay, R Samarth, P Chopra, Shreyas Iyer, Karun Nair, Ankit Bawne, Parthiv Patel (C), Shahbaz Nadeem, Parvez Rasool, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Dagar, Nitin Saini, Aniket Choudhary. 


India Blue: Suresh Raina (C), Samit Gohel, KS Bharat, AR Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar, Ishan Kishan, Jayant Yadav, Bharghav Bhatt, KM Gandhi, Ishant Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot, S Kamat, Jaydev Unadkat.

(With PTI Inputs)

Write a comment

Live Scorecard