Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Profile

Ramesh Pokhriyal 260x260 image
Ramesh Pokhriyal Ramesh Pokhriyal DOB: 15 July 1959

Ramesh Pokhriyal "Nishank" is an Indian politician belonging to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was Chief Minister of Uttarakhand from 2009 to 2011. He is a currently a Member of Parliament in 16th Lok Sabha. He represents the Haridwar Parliamentary Constituency of Uttarakhand in Lok Sabha and is a member of the Bharatiya Janta Party. Pokhriyal was first elected for the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha from Karnaprayag ward in 1991, and then later in 1993 and 1996 from the same constituency. In 1997 he was appointed for the Uttaranchal Development Minister. He was also Uttarakhand’s Chief Minister (from 2009 to 2011) and is currently a member of Lok Sabha’s 16th session and the Chairman of the Assurance Committee. He is currently a representative of Haridwar constituency in the Lok Sabha and a senior member of Bhartiya Janta Party. He was the Member of Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand for five consecutive terms from 1991 to 2012. He was elected first time in 1991 from Karnaprayag ward for three consecutive terms.

read more