1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Profile

Kiren Rijiju 260x260 image
Kiren Rijiju Kiren Rijiju DOB: November 19, 1971

In the 2004 general election, Kiran Rijiju was elected as a member of the 14th Lok Sabha, representing the constituency of Arunachal West. Rijiju entered the Lok Sabha for the second time in 2014 from the Arunachal (West) constituency. In the 2009 general election, Rijiju was defeated by a very thin margin of 1314 votes by the Congress candidate under very controversial circumstances which witnessed massive violence amidst allegation of polling booth capturing by Congress Party. In the 2014 general election, Kiren Rijiju was again elected as a Member of Parliament in the 16th Lok Sabha, representing the Arunachal West constituency. Kiren Rijiju defeated Takam Sanjoy of the Indian National Congress by a margin of 43,738 votes. Immediately he found a place in Narendra Modi's first best of 45 Council of Minister's list.

read more


Jan Raksha Yatra

As it happened: BJP's Jan Raksha Yatra in Delhi

Politics | Oct 10, 2017, 07:50 PM IST

The BJP on Monday organised the Jan Raksha Yatra to protest against the atrocities against and killings of RSS and BJP workers in Kerala.