1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Profile

Bhupesh Baghel 260x260 image
Bhupesh Baghel Bhupesh Baghle DOB: 23 August 1961

Bhupesh Baghel (born 23 August 1961) is an Indian politician, from Chhattisgarh. He is a member of Indian National Congress and the current President of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee since October, 2014. He is an elected member of Chhattisgarh Assembly. His assembly constituency is Patan (District Durg). Four-time MLA from Chhattisgarh's Patan, Bhpuesh Baghel is a veteran Congress leader and the current president of party's state committee. Baghel joined Indian Youth Congress (IYC) in 1985 and was President, IYC Durg District (rural) from 1990 to 1994. He was Vice President of Madhya Pradesh Youth Congress (1994–95). Baghel served in Digvijay Singh's cabinet (Madhya Pradesh), first as incharge of Public Grievance Department and then later as Minister of Transport. When the state of Chhattisgarh was created by the Government of India in November 2000, Baghel became First Minister for Revenue, Public Health Engineering and relief work (until 2003). He was Deputy Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly from 2003 to 2008.

read more


CM Baghel visits Ajit Jogi's residence to pay his last respect

News | May 30, 2020, 08:41 AM IST

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel on May 29 paid his last respect to the first chief minister of Chhattisgarh and former Congress leader Ajit Jogi.

Bhupesh Baghel takes oath as Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

Politics | Dec 17, 2018, 07:31 PM IST

Bhupesh Baghel takes oath as Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh