1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Politics
  4. National
  5. Election Results 2017: Here are the prominent winners and losers from all five states

Election Results 2017: Here are the prominent winners and losers from all five states

Indiatvnews.com presents to you a list of prominent winners and losers of these elections from all five states:

India TV Politics Desk India TV Politics Desk New Delhi Updated on: March 11, 2017 20:36 IST
Harish Rawat and Swati Singh
Harish Rawat and Swati Singh

Every election witnesses the rise and fall in fortunes of some prominent candidates belonging to different political parties.

Today’s results of five state assemblies were no different. On one hand, many prominent candidates successfully retained their seats while some others were forced to bite the dust in these elections.

The BJP created history in Uttar Pradesh by winning more than three-fourth seats in the state Assembly. It was almost a repeat of its 2014 performance when the party had won 73 out of 80 seats along with its ally Apna Dal.

The BJP alliance, riding on PM Modi’s huge popularity, is all set to win around 325 out of 403 seats in the state Assembly this time. 

However, even this massive Modi wave, rather the Modi Tsunami, could not save either former state BJP President Laxmikant Bajpai who lost from Meerut or Mriganka Singh, the daughter of BJP MP Kukum Singh, who lost elections from Kairana.

In Uttarakhand, Chief Minister Harish Rawat had to face ignominious defeats from both Haridwar (rural) and Kichcha assembly constituencies. While the BJP is all set to win 57 out of 70 seats in the state, its state president Ajay Bhatt was trounced  in Ranikhet constituency.

In Punjab, the Congress proved most of the pollsters wrong by registering a spectacular victory. However, its state president Capt Amarinder Singh lost to Prakash Singh Badal from Lambi constituency although he emerged victorious in Patiala.

The AAP not only failed to form the government in Punjab, its prominent face Bhagwant Mann also lost from Jalalabad constituency. Even former Army chief General JJ Singh who contested on Akali Dal ticket had to face defeat against Captain Amarinder Singh from Patiala.

Goa witnessed a neck-to-neck fight between BJP and Congress. However, chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar and most of his cabinet colleagues surprisingly lost elections from their respective constituencies.  

In the North East, Manipur is also heading for a hung Assembly with Congress emerging as the single largest party with 28 seats followed by BJP at 21.

However, the most surprising result was the defeat of human rights activist Irom Sharmila who could manage mere 90 votes against the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh from Thoubal Assembly constituency.

Indiatvnews.com presents to you a list of prominent winners and losers of these elections from all five states:

Uttar Pradesh

Prominent Winners:

Pankaj Singh (BJP) – Noida

Satyapal Singh Baghel (BJP) - Tundla

Rita Bahuguna Joshi (BJP) - Lucknow Cantt

Garima Singh (BJP) - Amethi

Shivpal Singh Yadav (SP) - Jaswantnagar

Raja Bhaiyya (Independent) - Kunda

Siddhartha Nath Singh (BJP) - Allahabad West

Aman Mani Tripathi (Independent) - Nautanwa

Swami Prasad Maurya (BJP) - Padrauna

Shyam Sundar Sharma (BSP) - Mant

Pooran Prakash (BJP) - Baldev

Karinda Singh (BJP) -  Goverdhan

Laxmi Narayan (BJP) -  Chhata

Srikant Sharma (BJP) - Mathura

Neelkanth Tiwari(BJP) - Varanasi South

Azam Khan (SP) - Rampur

Swati Singh (BJP) - Sarojini Nagar

Kapil Dev Aggarwal(BJP) - Muzaffarnagar

Sangeet Som (BJP) - Sardana

Mohammad Abdullah Azam Khan (SP) - Suar 

Mukhtar Ansari (BSP) - Mau

Aditi Singh (Congress) - Raebareli

Prominent Losers:

Imran Masood (Congress) - Nakur

Mriganka Singh (BJP) - Kairana

Jitin Prasad (Congress) - Tilhar

Aparna Yadav (SP) - Lucknow Cantt

Ameeta Singh (Congress) - Amethi

Abbas Ansari (BSP) - Ghosi

Krishna Patel (Independent) - Rohaniya



Prominent Winners:

Kishore Upadhyay (Congress) - Sahaspur

Shailendra Singh Rawat (Congress) - Yamkeshwar 

Satpal Maharaj (BJP) - Chaubattakhal

Sanjeev Arya (BJP) - Nainital

Indira Hridayesh ( Congress) - Haldwani

Yashpal Arya (BJP) - Bajpur

Saurabh Bahuguna (BJP) - Sitarpur


Prominent Losers:

Harish Rawat (Congress) - Haridwar Rural and Kichcha

Ajay Bhatt (BJP) - Ranikhet



Prominent Winners:

Captain Amarinder Singh (Congress) - Patiala

Navjot Singh Sidhu (Congress) - Amritsar East

Prakash Singh Badal (SAD) - Lambi

Bikram Singh Majithia (SAD) - Majitha

Pargat Singh (Congress) - Jalandhar Cantt

Sukhbir Singh Badal (SAD) - Jalalabad

Manpreet Singh Badal (Congress) - Bathinda Urban

H S Phoolka (AAP) - Dakha

Prominent Losers:

Bhagwant Mann (AAP) - Jalalabad

Capt Amarinder Singh (Congress) - Lambi

Rajinder Kaur Bhattal (Congress) - Lehra

General J J Singh (SAD) - Patiala


Prominent Winners:

Francis D Souza (BJP) - Mapusa

Digambar Kamat (Congress) - Margao

Luizinho Faleiro (Congress) -Navelim

Ravi Naik (Congress) -  Ponda

Pratapsingh Rane (Congress) - Poriem

Prominent Losers:

Laxmikant Parsekar (BJP) - Mandrem

Elvis Gomes (AAP) - Cuncolim

Rajendra Arlekar(BJP) - Pernem

Mahadev Narayan Naik (BJP) - Siroda

Dilip Parulekar (BJP) - Saligao

Dayanand Rayu Mandrekar (BJP) - Siolim


Prominent Winners:

Thokchom Lokeshwar Singh(Congress) - Kundrakpam

Okram Ibobi Singh (Congress) - Thoubal

N Biren Singh (BJP) - Heingang

Okram Henry ( BJP) - Wangkhei

Surjakumar Okram (Congress) - Khangabok

Prominent Losers:

Irom Sharmila (PRJA) - Thoubal

T Chaoba Singh (BJP) - Nambol

IPL 2023: Read the fastest live coverage , analysis, records, interesting news of the T20 tournament only on India TV English Digital
Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Politics and National Section