Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Telangana Municipal Election Results: TRS wins 109 out of 120 seats

Telangana Municipal Election Results: TRS wins 109 out of 120 seats

Telangana Municipal Election Results 2020: Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has won 109 out of 120 seats and seven out of nine corporations in the Telangana civic polls, which were held on January 22 (Wednesday).

India TV News Desk Edited by: India TV News Desk New Delhi Updated on: January 26, 2020 11:23 IST
Representational image

Representational image

Telangana Municipal Election Result 2020: K Chandrasekhar Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has won 109 out of 120 seats and seven out of nine corporations in the Telangana civic pollswhich were held on January 22 (Wednesday)The polling was held through paper ballots on Wednesday. TRS which had registered an impressive victory in all the previously held polls, such as Legislative Assembly, Parliament, Zilla Parishad and Mandal Parishad, once again delivered a stellar performance in the recently concluded civic polls.

Telangana Municipal Election Result 2020 | highlights

3:56 PM | AIMIM wins Bhainsa municipality: AIMIM - 15 wards, BJP 9, others 2

3:30 PM | TRS sweeps Municipal elections in Telangana. Out of 120 municipalities, 109 seats won by TRS, 4 seats won by Congress, 3 seats won by BJP and 3 seats won by others. Meanwhile, out of 9 corporations, 7 seats won by TRS and 2 seats won by BJP. 

01:40 PM | As the counting of votes in the Telangana civic body polls is underway, so far out of the 120 municipalities, TRS is leading in 109 municipalities, Congress on 5, BJP, AIMIM and others are leading in 2 municipalities each.

Meanwhile, in Nalgonda and Kollapur municipalities, all the rebel candidates of the TRS are leading. Also in nine corporations, TRS is leading in seven of them.

12:22 PM | Out of 120, TRS is leading in 78 Municipalities, Congress in 4 and BJP in 2. Out of 9 corporations, TRS is leading in 6. In Nalgonda and Kollapur municipalities, all rebels of TRS are leading.

09:30 AM | In 120, municipalities there are total 2,727 wards, of this 80 Wards became unanimous and the rest 2647 went for the polls.

08:30 AM | In 9 municipal corporations, there are 325 wards of which only one ward became unanimous and elections held for the remaining 324. 

08:00 AM | Counting of votes start. A total of 129 candidates fate to be decided. 

07:30 AM | On January 22, in the State, elections took place for 120 Municipalities and 9 Municipal Corporations. Overall the voting percentage was 70.26.

TRS won 100% Zila Parishads

In 2019, the real local bodies elections for the Zila Parishads and Mandal Parishads. The TRS has created a national record. The TRS won all the 32 Zilla Parishads. This is the feat, which no one ever did in the past or in the present in the entire country. The Opposition parties like the Congress, BJP could not win even single seat.

When the polls took place for 537 Zila Parishads territory constituencies, TRS won 448 (83.42 per cent). Congress got only 75 seats (13.9 per cent) while the BJP got only 8 (0.14 per cent). Elections were held for 5,817 Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) in the State.  TRS won 3,556 (61.13 per cent), Congress 1,377 (23. 67 per cent), BJP 211 (3.62 per cent).

Of the total 537 Mandal Parishad President posts, TRS won 431, Congress 72, BJP only 6.

A look at 2016 Greater Hyderabad Municipal Elections

In 2016, Greater Hyderabad Municipal Elections (GHMC) too the TRS registered a huge victory. Of the 150 Wards, TRS won 99 Wards, its alliance partner AIMIM 44, while the Congress won 2, BJP 4 and TDP one Ward. In the annals of the GHMC History, for the first time one political party won so many Wards and was able to have Mayor’s post on its own without any support from other parties. 

TRS comes back to power for the successive second time in 2018

In the Assembly polls that took place in December in 2018 for 119 seats, the TRS got 46.87 per cent of votes and secured 88 seats. Congress got 28.43 per cent of votes and won 19 seats while the BJP got only 6.98 per cent of votes and confined itself to one seat! The AIMIM got 2.71 per cent of votes and won 7 seats.

In the 2019 Parliament elections, while the entire country witnessed Narendra Modi’s wave and the BJP influence, in Telangana State TRS showed its dominance. Of the 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana State, TRS got 41.71 per cent votes and won 9 seats. Congress got 29.79 per cent votes and won 3 seats while the BJP got 19.65 per cent votes and secured 4 seats. The AIMIM with 2.8 per cent votes won a single seat.

ALSO READBudget 2020: Govt likely to raise import duties on over 50 items

ALSO READChunav Manch: India TV's mega conclave on Delhi Assembly Election on January 29

Latest India News