Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India
  4. Rajya Sabha election results: BJP wins big in Maharashtra, major set back to ruling Sena-NCP-Cong alliance

Rajya Sabha election results: BJP wins big in Maharashtra, major set back to ruling Sena-NCP-Cong alliance

The counting of votes started after an eight-hour delay amid complaints of cross-voting and rules violations by the BJP and the ruling alliance. Both BJP and the Shiv Sena approached the Election Commission, alleging cross-voting and seeking disqualification of votes.

Sachin Chaudhary Reported by: Sachin Chaudhary Mumbai Updated on: June 11, 2022 8:10 IST
Rajya Sabha election results, Rajya Sabha election, Rajya Sabha, parliament, Maharashtra, Mumbai, Sh
Image Source : PTI

BJP wins 3 of 6 seats in major setback to ruling Sena-NCP-Cong alliance in Maharashtra


  • Fadnavis' refusal to have a consensus candidate led to elections in state after 24 years
  • The result was a major setback to Maharashtra's ruling alliance
  • Both BJP and the Shiv Sena approached the Election Commission, alleging cross voting

Rajya Sabha election results 2022: The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) registered an emphatic victory in Maharashtra on Saturday after it won three of the six Rajya Sabha seats. The BJP winners include Union minister Piyush Goyal and former state minister Anil Bonde, and Dhananjay Mahadik, while  Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut, NCP’s Praful Patel and Congress’ Imran Pratapgarhi also won the fiercely-fought elections. Of the 284 valid votes, Goyal polled 48, Bonde 48, Mahadik 41. 56, Raut 41, Pratapgarhi 44 and Patel 43. The latest development is a big blow to the ruling Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress alliance in the state. 

The suspense of the election lasted till midnight. While registering a historic victory, BJP won all the three seats while the fourth candidate of Mahavikas Aghadi lost.  The ruling combine had questioned the eight-hour delay in counting of votes. The contest was for the sixth seat — the BJP had fielded former MP Dhananjay Mahadik and the Shiv Sena candidate was Sanjay Pawar, who lost. Mahadik and Pawar hail from Kolhapur in western Maharashtra. The high-stake battle for the sixth turned out to be a nail-biting affair with the Congress and BJP trading charges, even approaching the Election Commission. "Elections are contested not just for the fight, but the victory. Jai Maharashtra," tweeted BJP's Devendra Fadnavis, whose refusal to have a consensus candidate for the Rajya Sabha led to elections in the state after 24 years.

BJP had objected to the voting of Jitendra Ahwad, Yashomati Thakur, and Suhad Kande and complained to the Central Election Commission. Mahavikas Aghadi also took objection to the voting of BJP's Sudhir Mungantiwar and MLA Ravi Rana and made a counter complaint to the Central Election Commission. The Central Election Commission canceled the vote of Shiv Sena MLA Suhas Kande. 

After the stunning setback, Congress leaders admitted shortcomings in coordination in the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi. Maharashtra Revenue Minister Balasaheb Thorat told reporters in Vidhan Bhavan that it is a matter of study as to what went wrong. “BJP was cunning in holding up the counting and getting one vote invalid. We were confident that all four of our candidates will win comfortably,” the Congress leader said. Imran Pratapgarhi, the victorious Congress candidate said he was happy with his win but the defeat of Shiv Sena candidate Sanjay Pawar was unfortunate.

NCP leader Praful Patel said he will continue to make sure the concerns of Maharashtra are heard and addressed. “A huge thank you to all my supporters and well wishers for electing me to serve as the Rajya Sabha Member of the Parliament. I express my heartfelt gratitude to Hon'ble Pawar Saheb and NCP for entrusting me with this responsibility,” he tweeted. “I am deeply humbled by your support, and I want to assure you that I will continue to work day and night to make sure that your concerns and of my Maharashtra state are heard and addressed,” he added. Raut blamed the poll panel for the defeat of the fourth MVA candidate. “Election Commission made our one vote invalid. We objected to two votes but no action was taken on that demand. Election Commission favoured them (BJP),” Raut said.

Also Read | Rajya Sabha poll results in Karnataka: 3 seats for BJP, 1 for Congress, none for JD(S)

Latest India News