1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. India News
  4. Chhattisgarh: 3 ITBP jawans arrested for 'molesting' three minor girls

Chhattisgarh: 3 ITBP jawans arrested for 'molesting' three minor girls

Head constables Manish Kumar (24), Nagendra Bhagor (26) and Prabhu Dayal (25) of ITBP's 29th battalion were arrested yesterday, Kondagaon district Superintendent of Police Abhishek Pallav said.  

India TV News Desk India TV News Desk
New Delhi Published on: May 24, 2018 22:11 IST
Representative News Image

Chhattisgarh: 3 ITBP jawans arrested for 'molesting' three minor girls 

Three personnel of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police, accused of molesting three minor girls including a national-level table tennis player, have been arrested by police in Chhattisgarh.

Head constables Manish Kumar (24), Nagendra Bhagor (26) and Prabhu Dayal (25) of ITBP's 29th battalion were arrested yesterday, Kondagaon district Superintendent of Police Abhishek Pallav said.

The ITBP battalion is stationedin Kondagaon district for anti-Naxal operations. On May 22, a minor girl who is a national-level table tennis player lodged a complaint that when she and her two friends were returning after practise at a club in Kondagaon town, the accused accosted them. 

The three men asked the girls for phone numbers, touched one of them inappropriately, and made lewd comments, the complainant alleged. One of the girls called a relative, and when he reached the spot, the accused fled, the SP said. 

Police have registered a case under IPC section 354 (molestation) and under theProtection of Children from Sexual Offences Act. While Kumar is native of Bulandshahr in Uttar Pradesh, Bhagor and Dayal are from Agra and Sikar (Rajasthan), the official said, adding that further probe was on. 

(With PTI inputs)

Get the latest Lok Sabha election 2019 news on https://indiatvnews.com/elections.. Follow Live Election Results on May 23 with India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma using #ResultsWithRajatSharma and #ElectionsWithIndiaTV. You can also watch India TV's Live TV.

Write a comment

India TV Election Day Counting